Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Peace and the Panic *

Album: The Peace and the Panic *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Motion Sickness
2)    Happy Judgement Day
3)    Grand Delusion, The
4)    Parachute
5)    In Bloom
6)    Don't Wait - (featuring Sam Carter)
7)    Critical Mistake
8)    Wish You Were Here
9)    Heavy Lies
10)    19 Seventy Sumthin'
11)    Where Do We Go When We Go
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ben Barlow, Fil Thorpe-Evans (vocals); Matt West, Sam Bowden (guitar); Dani Washington (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Neal Avron.
  • Illustrator: Ryan Besch.
  • Riding high on a wave of early success that allowed them to quit their day jobs and pursue their musical ambitions with renewed vigor, Welsh pop-punk combo Neck Deep delivered their highly optimistic sophomore set, Life's Not Out to Get You, in the summer of 2015. Although it proved to be a breakout release for the young band -- reaching the Top Ten in the U.K. and topping Billboard's Independent Albums chart in the U.S. -- the ensuing two years were fraught with personal tumult and cold doses of reality. While the anxiety of uncertain social and political climates has many artists asking big questions, also looming large among Neck Deep's inner woes is the death of frontman Ben Barlow's father. There are few events that cause a person to grow up faster than the untimely death of a parent, so it's no wonder the band returns a shade more sober on 2017's The Peace and the Panic. Overall more mature in content and tone, the band's third LP sees them expanding their boundaries somewhat while still adhering to a classic, if more muscular, pop-punk sound. Working with producer Neal Avron (Fall Out Boy, New Found Glory), Neck Deep find a nice balance between sprightly and serious, delivering the big riffy melodies they've become known for, over a more defined bed of parts. The bleak but tuneful "Happy Judgment Day" confronts the teetering knife's edge of contemporary politics, wondering if we've delivered ourselves to end times. The pleasingly introspective "Parachute" is a classic ode to escape, while "Wish You Were Here" nostalgically reflects on Barlow's father. If The Peace and the Panic is a darker affair than their first two records, it's not quite as dour as it sounds. While they've continued to progress as a band, Neck Deep are pop-punks to the core and this rousing set packs plenty of punch. ~ Timothy Monger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Peace and the Panic * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top