Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details


1. Patience

2. Amazing

3. John And Elvis (Are Dead)

4. Cars And Trains

5. Round Here

6. Shoot The Dog

7. My Mother Had A Brother

8. Flawless (Go To The City)

9. American Angel

10. Please Send Me Someone

11. Freeeek! 04

12. Through

13. Patience Pt.2

Performer Notes
  • The import edition includes two bonus tracks.
  • Personnel: George Michael (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards, drum programming); Michael Brown , Phil Palmer (guitar); Chris Cameron (piano); Luke Smith (Wurlitzer organ); David Austin, Pete Gleadall, Ruadhri Cushnan, James Jackman (keyboards, programming); Graham Silbiger (bass guitar); Joel Bryant (background vocals).
  • Photographers: Jack Panayiotou; Abid Katib; James Dimmock; Eugene Adebari; Ben Smithard; Ellen Von Unwerth; James Jackman.
  • Arrangers: George Michael; Ruadhri Cushnan; James Jackman; Niall Flynn.
  • 2004's PATIENCE finds George Michael attempting to transcend his tabloid notoriety with pure musical prowess. Remarkably enough, Michael achieves this feat with a batch of songs that reaffirms the notion that artists sometimes get their best material from unsettling personal experiences. Loss plays a big part in many of these songs, whether it's the sparse piano ballad "My Mother Had a Brother" (about an uncle who killed himself in despondency over his own homosexuality) or the mid-tempo, Latin-tinged "Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song)" (about an ex-lover who died of AIDS).
  • The British pop icon also touches on religion with the sparsely arranged "John and Elvis Are Dead," which finds him questioning Christ's existence. Despite the somber subject matter on many of the aforementioned songs and the gorgeously rendered title cut, Michael can still turn out dance-inspired fare. "Flawless (Go to the City)" features the kind of thumping beats you'd expect to hear at a velvet-rope club, and "Freeek! '04" slows down the tempo while displaying a carnal frankness on par with "I Want Your Sex."
Professional Reviews
Q (4/04, p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 - "It is by turns funny, dark, ridiculous, exhilarating, and - most strikingly of all - relentlessly personal."

Mojo (Publisher) (4/04, p.103) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[A]n oddly experimental record, prioritising texture over tune and betraying a river-deep confessional streak....A record of conviction..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Patience on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top