Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Pass the Knowledge

Album: Pass the Knowledge: Reggae Anthology [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Back Weh (You No Mafia)
2)    Right Time
3)    Have Mercy
4)    Just Can't Figure Out
5)    Jah Jah Bless the Dreadlocks
6)    Jail House
7)    Cat-O'-Nine
8)    Africa
9)    Shame & Pride
10)    Country Living
11)    I Need a Roof
12)    Ghetto Living
13)    Identity
14)    Gypsy Woman
15)    Keep on Moving
16)    Just Like a River
17)    Let Jah Sun Shine
18)    Swell Headed [Dubplate]
19)    I Want to Know [Dubplate]
20)    Rocky Road [Dubplate]
1)    Pass the Kouchie
2)    Bodyguard
3)    Struggling
4)    Gates of Zion
5)    Brother Man
6)    Morgan the Pirate
7)    Eyes on Africa
8)    Jah Will Work It Out
9)    Pray to Thee
10)    Tamarind Farm
11)    Mr. Chin Slippers
12)    Pass the Knowledge
13)    Let the Dollar Circulate
14)    Heads of Government
15)    Fight It Out There
16)    Party Time
17)    Hypocrites [Dubplate] - (previously unreleased)
18)    Survival [Dubplate] - (previously unreleased)
19)    Lovely Lady
20)    Last Dance, The
1)    Right Time [DVD]
2)    Have Mercy [DVD]
3)    Natural Natty [DVD]
4)    Pass the Kutchie [DVD]
5)    There Is No Me Without You [DVD]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Harry Wise.
  • A trio consisting of Donald "Tabby" Shaw, Fitzroy "Bunny" Simpson, and Lloyd "Judge" Ferguson, the Mighty Diamonds are Jamaica's longest-running vocal group still active with the original members, delivering the same smooth, easy-rocking, and thoughtful harmonies for some 40 years now. It comes as a bit of a surprise, then, that this three-disc set (two CDs and a DVD) from VP Records is the first real career-spanning anthology of the trio's key tracks to hit the 21st century digital world. Covering the Diamonds' peak years from 1975 to 1986, and featuring productions done over those years by the likes of Gussie Clarke, Joseph Hoo-Kim, Donovan Germain, Tappa Zukie, Ossie Hibbert, Errol Thompson, Junior Booth, and Joe Gibbs, among others, along with rare dubplate versions of "Hypocrite" and "Survival," this woefully overdue compilation simply underscores what fans of vintage reggae roots music have always known, that these guys are simply one of the best vocal groups the island ever produced. The Diamonds' most essential sides are here, including the genre classics "Right Time," "Have Mercy," "I Need a Roof," and "Pass the Kouchie," and track after track glides by full of sharp, crisp rhythms and those trademark velvet-smooth and laid-back harmonies, even as the songs serve witness to poverty and desperation with defiant ghetto pride, determination, and the sly certainty of redemption. The DVD included in this package contains a delightful concert film from 1992 of the Diamonds live at Reggae Sunsplash. ~ Steve Leggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Reggae » Roots Reggae
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Pass the Knowledge: Reggae Anthology [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top