Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Onset of Putfrefaction

Album: Onset of Putfrefaction
# Song Title   Time
1)    Foul Body Autopsy
2)    To Breathe in a Casket
3)    Mutilate the Stillborn
4)    Intestinal Incubation
5)    Culinary Hyperversity
6)    Advanced Corpse Tumor
7)    Extreme Unction
8)    Fermented Offal Discharge
9)    Dismembered Self-Immolation
10)    Pseudopathological Vivisection
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Christine Brandes (sampler).
  • Recording information: Depths Of Torment, Baden-Baden (1995-1998); Iguana Studios, March-Hugstetten (1995-1998).
  • This album is a landmark in the history of the obsessive, alienating subgenre known as technical death metal. Musically breathtaking, it's even more astonishing when one learns that the whole thing was played (and, in the case of the drums, programmed) by one guy, Muhammed Sui‡mez. In much the same way as electronic music composers like Squarepusher and Aphex Twin, Sui‡mez composed his ultra-complex songs in solitude; consequently the album documents his singular obsessions. Lyrically, he stays within traditional death metal territory, grunting and roaring about violence, cannibalism, and horrifying bodily mutations, and his voice is the usual guttural growl. It's the guitar and bass riffs (there are a few solo bass breaks thrown in, as if to prove his mastery of the instrument is equal to his guitar skill) that make the album the landmark it is. They spiral and twist in every direction, repeated often enough to give each song a unique identity (something not every technical death metal band remembers to do) and perfectly setting up the solos, which are fluid and hyperbolic without being wanky or ridiculous -- at least, not by the standards of the genre. Indeed, the classically influenced guitar soloing on "Fermented Offal Discharge," the album's closing track, is quite beautiful in an Yngwie Malmsteen sort of way. The programmed drums never sound like a real human hitting things with sticks, but they're sufficiently complex and hammering that they don't let down the material, either. Two bonus tracks, culled from a 1995 demo recorded with actual backing musicians, offer a slightly looser but no less powerful vision of the band. ~ Phil Freeman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Onset of Putfrefaction on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top