Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

On Broadway, Act One

Album: On Broadway, Act One: October 28th, 1987 [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Opening Announcement
2)    Deep Elem Blues
3)    I'm Troubled
4)    Spike Driver Blues
5)    Band Introductions
6)    Blue Yodel #9
7)    Short Life of Trouble
8)    If I Lose
9)    I'm Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
10)    Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
11)    Drifting Too Far from the Shore
12)    Ragged but Right
1)    Opening Announcement
2)    I've Been All Around the World
3)    Ballad of Casey Jones
4)    Blue Yodel #9
5)    I'm Troubled
6)    Rose Lee McFall
7)    Band Introductions
8)    Diamond Joe
9)    I Ain't Never
10)    It's a Long Long Way to the Top of the World
11)    Bright Morning Stars
12)    Ragged but Right
1)    How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
2)    Forever Young
3)    Stop That Train
4)    Band Introductions
5)    Run for the Roses
6)    Evangeline
7)    Knockin' on Heaven's Door
8)    Gomorrah
9)    Tangled Up in Blue
10)    My Sisters and Brothers
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); David Nelson (vocals, guitar); Sandy Rothman (vocals, dobro, banjo, mandolin); Jackie LaBranch, Gloria Jones (vocals); Kenny Kosek (fiddle); Melvin Seals (organ); David Kemper (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Steve Parish; Dennis McNally.
  • Illustrator: Nick Steinhardt.
  • Photographers: Herb Greene; Bob Minkin.
  • It is only fitting that in the year of the Grateful Dead's Fare Thee Well 50th Anniversary shows that its iconic guitarist finally gets the recognition he deserves. This triple-disc package is the first in a series of archival releases to document the Jerry Garcia Band's 13-night run on Broadway. The discs are divided into two acoustic sets -- one from an afternoon matinee performance and the second from the first half of an evening show -- and an electric final act. The band on the first two includes bassist John Kahn and drummer David Kemper (who also play in the electric version), guitarist David Nelson (New Riders of the Purple Sage), fiddler Kenny Kosek, and Sandy Rothman on banjo, dobro, and mandolin. The latter two also provide backing vocals. Highlights in the matinee set include "Deep Ellum Blues," Ralph Stanley's "If I Lose," and George Jones' "Ragged But Right." The second set is a bit more spirited with loose but excellent versions of "I've Been All Around This World," Jimmie Rodgers' "Blue Yodel No. 9," and the traditional Appalachian standard "I'm Troubled," as well as Tex Logan's "Diamond Joe" (with Nelson on lead vocals) and Mel Tillis' and Webb Pierce's classic honky tonk blues "I Ain't Ever."
  • The final electric set drops the string players and takes a turn toward groove: Melvin Seals plays organ, and Gloria Jones (Marc Bolan's widow) and Jackie LaBranch offer backing vocals. This is where things catch fire. It includes three fine versions of Bob Dylan tunes -- "Forever Young," a ten-minute "Knockin' on Heaven's Door," and a sprightly "Tangled Up in Blue." Soul and reggae are represented by Holland-Dozier-Holland's "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)" and Peter Tosh's "Stop That Train," and there's a raw, early rock & roll take on Los Lobos' "Evangeline." Listeners also get fine versions of two originals in "Run for the Roses" and "Gomorrah." This isn't the best Garcia performance, but it's far from substandard. Since fans have heard most, if not all of these songs, many times before, On Broadway: Act One is more for the completist than the devoted fan. There are some truly inspired moments of guitar interplay between the leader and Nelson on the first two discs, and Seals adds another layer of swing and R&B drive to the electric one. Even with the uncertainties of a first-night performance, these musicians are itching to play together; and, as the tape traders know too well, by the end of this two-week run this group would be rattling the rafter. For veteran fans, it's fascinating to hear their more tentative beginnings here. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling On Broadway, Act One: October 28th, 1987 [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top