SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

An Old Rock on a Roll [Digipak]

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: An Old Rock on a Roll [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Searching For My Baby
2)    Fantasy Meets Reality
3)    Heaven, Send Me An Angel
4)    Devil Woman
5)    Old Rock on a Roll, An
6)    Don't Pretend
7)    Run Little Joe
8)    Howlin'
9)    Wild Turkey 101 Proof
10)    Bring Back the Love
11)    Way Overdue
12)    Rocking Boogie Party
13)    Give Thanks
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne (vocals, piano); Duke Robillard (guitar); Sax Gordon (tenor saxophone); Doug James (baritone saxophone); Doug Woolverton (trumpet); Carl Querfurth (trombone); Mark Teixeira (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: John Paul Gauthier.
  • Liner Note Author: Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne.
  • Recording information: Lakewest Recording Studio, West Greenwich, RI.
  • Photographer: Sonia Langford.
  • Late blooming blues/boogie singer/pianist Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne was born in Spokane, Washington in 1944 and grew up in New Orleans, Louisiana, San Francisco, California, and Los Angeles, California, but he has been based in Vancouver, British Columbia since the early '80s, which helps explain his three-LP association with the Canadian Electro-Fi label and his switch to Alberta roots indie Stony Plain Records for An Old Rock on a Roll. Stony Plain assigned him to label blues producer/guitarist Duke Robillard, who handled this lively set, matching Wayne with bassist Brad Hallen, drummer Mark Teixeira, and a four-man horn section. All the songs are Wayne originals, which is to say, the pianist has come up with his own lyrics, although the tunes and arrangements have been familiar in blues and boogie circles for the better part of a century. Even the lyrics are in familiar form, as Wayne bemoans the vicissitudes of a "Devil Woman" and explores the virtues of a life spent in bars. What matters, of course, is his powerful, heavily rhythmic playing, which has a lot of New Orleans in it, but predates rock & roll, despite the album title, and his professed love of Chuck Berry sideman Johnny Johnson and Fats Domino. Nobody is credited on organ, but that must be Wayne, too, on the closing instrumental, "Give Thanks," with the piano overdubbed (or some fast switching). This is not an album to come to looking for something new, but rather it presents a reconfirmation of how much can still be made out of bluesy, barrelhouse piano playing by a master. ~ William Ruhlmann
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (p.41) - "This Duke Robillard-produced release is a masterful collection of fully realized compositions, all written by Wayne."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling An Old Rock on a Roll [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top