Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Oh! Mighty Engine

Album: Oh! Mighty Engine
# Song Title   Time
1)    Oh Mighty Engine Album Version More Info... 4:29
2)    Elevenses Album Version More Info... 2:18
3)    Little Twig Album Version More Info... 3:36
4)    Witless Or Wise Album Version More Info... 3:01
5)    Paint a Face Album Version More Info... 2:49
6)    Always The Good Album Version More Info... 4:29
7)    No Mercy For The Muse Album Version More Info... 4:23
8)    Sometimes The Wheels Album Version More Info... 4:21
9)    Queen Bee Album Version More Info... 2:53
10)    Spinning For Spoonie Album Version More Info... 4:34
11)    A Gentle Heart Album Version More Info... 4:54
12)    Baby, I Grew You a Beard Album Version More Info... 4:03
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: The Solar Powered Plastic Plant, Los Angeles, CA.
  • More than six years after his lauded 2002 debut, SLEEPING ON ROADS, Mojave 3 frontman Neil Halstead finally unveiled another solo album, OH! MIGHTY ENGINE. While fans of Mojave 3 and Halstead's earlier shoegaze act, Slowdive, may be somewhat baffled to see the record issued on Jack Johnson's Brushfire label rather than 4AD, the unlikely association makes sense on certain levels, particularly since Halstead's own outings are appropriately acoustic and mellow, and the British singer-songwriter shares Johnson's passion for surfing. Like ROADS, ENGINE is carried by Halstead's gentle vocals, thoughtful lyrics, and spare folk-tinged arrangements (see the lilting "Witless or Wise" and the pastoral "Little Twig"), making the album a fitting follow-up to the previous outing.
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.108) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[G]ripping....Thoughtful tales like 'Little Twig' skillfully capture troubled lives without undue fuss..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.108) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Highlights include the lonely folk ballads 'Witless Or Wise' and 'No Mercy For the Muse,' and 'Sometimes The Wheels,' a slacker meditation with an impossibly catchy chorus..."

Paste (magazine) (p.62) - "OH! MIGHTY ENGINE returns to the land of sublime bedroom pop, all acoustic-based and velvet-vocaled, sincere but never strained, pretty and bittersweet."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Oh! Mighty Engine on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top