Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

No More Heroes [Remaster] [Parental Advisory]


Product Description
Product Details


1. I Feel Like A Wog

2. Bitching

3. Dead Ringer

4. Dagenham Dave

5. Bring On The Nubiles

6. Something Better Change

7. No More Heroes

8. Peasant In The Big Shitty

9. Burning Up Time

10. English Towns

11. School Mam

12. Straighten Out

13. Five Minutes

14. Rok It To The Moon

Performer Notes
  • Remastered U.K. edition featuring bonus recordings: "Straighten Out," "Five Minutes," and "Rok It To The Mood," plus original art work, complete lyrics and previously unavailable photos.
  • Personnel: Hugh Cornwell (vocals, guitar); Dave Greenfield (vocals, keyboards); Jet Black (drums, percussion).
  • Recording information: T.W. Studios, Fulham (07/1977).
  • Photographer: Trevor Rogers.
  • Punk's parents terribles, the Stranglers courted controversy throughout their early career. Caustic lyrics brought charges of misogyny, although the group suggested that outrage was merely part of the genre's tenet. They answered such criticism of their debut album with the even more uncompromising No More Heroes, a vengeful collection echoing the nihilism of its title. Role-playing apart, there was no denying a musical prowess compressing savage guitar, throbbing bass and swirling organ into vicious, driving sound. Hugh Cornwell's sneering intonation matched the aggression of his accompaniment, but the album also offered indications of the lighter pop style that the quartet would later follow.
Professional Reviews
Q (5/02 SE, p.142) - Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums".

Q (10/96, p.188) - 3 Stars - Good - "...musically more intricate....had probably the nastiest attitude of any record of its era."

Mojo (Publisher) (8/02, p.61) - "...Strove to maintain pace with the spirit of the times. Hence the preposterously offensive 'Bring On The Nubiles' and the yob philosophising of 'Something Better Change'..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » New Wave
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling No More Heroes [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top