Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

No Ghost [Digipak]

Album: No Ghost [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Cobbled from Dust
2)    Restoration
3)    Misplaced
4)    I Made the Law
5)    Crossed Wires
6)    On the Line
7)    Bobcat Goldwraith
8)    No Ghost
9)    Slippery When Wet
10)    Almanac
11)    Kindling to Cremation
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jeff Debutte (vocals, guitar, viola, piano, vibraphone, percussion); Rolf Klausener (vocals, guitar, cello, accordion, keyboards, drums); Howie Tsui (guitar, percussion); Patrick Johnson (ukulele, drums, percussion); T. Jeffrey Malecki (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Jarrett Bartlett; Rolf Klausener.
  • Recording information: Lac Charon Cottage, Bouchette, Qu‚bec (06/07/2009-06/27/2009).
  • Photographer: Rolf Klausener.
  • Rolf Klausener, leader of the Canadian indie rock band the Acorn, looked deep into his mother's life on the group's 2007 album, Glory Hope Mountain, and then, after performing it on tour, reexamined much of the same material for their next effort, 2009's Heron Act, so no one can blame Klausener and his bandmates for wanting to try something a few shades lighter. 2010's No Ghost was written and recorded during several weeks' sojourn at a lakeside cottage in Quebec, and while it doesn't play like something to throw on the stereo during a vacation, there's a freshness and spontaneity to the recordings that's honest and organic, and suggest the band is happy to be moving on to fresher themes. No Ghost doesn't sound or feel lightweight; while there isn't a unifying theme to these 11 songs, the failings of the human heart and soul wind their way through them, always with compassion but sometimes without letting his subjects off the hook. At the same time, the performances flow with a simple but palpable joy; the Acorn fill the arrangements with a variety of instrumental textures but leave enough open space to prevent the material from sounding cluttered, and the interaction of the five musicians (and a handful of guests) feels fresh and confident at once, as the players explore their spaces and like what they find. (Nearly all the bandmembers take on several instruments, and the interaction and emotional enthusiasm of the Acorn stretching their boundaries clearly informs the recordings.) If No Ghost doesn't look as deep into a human soul as Glory Hope Mountain, it does allow the Acorn to cast a significant glance into their own hearts, minds, and creative processes, and the finished product is an album of genuine beauty and intelligence that merits careful listening. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
CMJ - "[A]n emotionally mature piece of work with a healthy amount of upbeat, exciting tracks to go with it."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[R]obust and kaleidoscopic....'Cobbled From Dust' and `Crossed Wires' are Acorn's version of kick-ass electric rock."

Uncut (magazine) (p.121) - "NO GHOST confirms The Acorn's credentials, building thrillingly on the band's ability to access a variety of moods and textures."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling No Ghost [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top