Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded]


Product Description
Product Details


1. New Feeling [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

2. A Clean Break [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

3. Don't Worry About The Government [Live Remastered And ...]

4. Pulled Up [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

5. Psycho Killer [Live Remastered And Expanded Versio]

6. Who Is It? [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

7. The Book I Read [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

8. The Big Country [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

9. I'm Not In Love [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

10. The Girls Want To Be With The Girls [Live Remastered And ...]

11. Electricity [Drugs] [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

12. Found A Job [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

13. Mind [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

14. Artists Only [Live Remastered And Expanded Version]

15. Stay Hungry [Live Remastered And Expanded 1979 Version]

16. Air [Remastered And Extended Version]

17. Love Building On Fire [Remastered And Extended Version]

18. Memories [Can't Wait] [Remastered And Extended Version]

19. Heaven [Remastered And Extended Version]

20. Psycho Killer [Remastered And Extended Version]

21. Warning Sign [Remastered And Extended Version]

22. Stay Hungry [Remastered And Expanded 1980 Version]

23. Cities [Remastered And Extended Version]

24. I Zimbra [Remastered And Extended Version]

25. Drugs [Remastered And Extended Version]

26. Once In A Lifetime [Remastered And Extended Version]

27. Animals [Remastered And Extended Version]

28. Houses In Motion [Remastered And Extended Version]

29. Born Under Punches [The Heat Goes On] [Remastered And Ext Vrs

30. Crosseyed And Painless [Remastered And Extended Version]

31. Life During Wartime [Remastered And Extended Version]

32. Take Me To The River [Remastered And Extended Version]

33. The Great Curve [Remastered And Extended Version]

Performer Notes
  • Talking Heads: Jerry Harrison (vocals); David Byrne (keyboards, bass instrument, percussion); Tina Weymouth (keyboards, bass instrument); Chris Franz (keyboards, drums, percussion).
  • Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitar); Jerry Harrison (guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Tina Weymouth (guitar, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Adrian Belew (guitar, background vocals); Busta Cherry Jones (guitar); Bernie Worrell (Clavinet, background vocals); Chris Frantz (drums); Steve Scales (congas, percussion); Dollette McDonald (percussion, background vocals); Nona Hendryx (background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Brian Eno (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Bernie Worrell (synthesizer); Robert Palmer (percussion); Adrian Belew, Nona Hendryx.
  • Audio Mixers: Ed Stasium; Talking Heads; Dave Artale; Ken Rasek; Butch Jones.
  • Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
  • Liner Note Authors: Andy Zax; Gary Peterson; Reggie Collins.
  • Recording information: 11/17/1977-02/27/1981.
  • Authors: Ira Mayer; Jon Pareles; Roman Kozak.
  • Photographers: Gary Kurfirst; Lynn Goldsmith; Mark Weiss; Tom Ligamari; Beverly Price; Charlie Clough; Jimmy DeSana; Donna Santisi; Ebet Roberts; Bob Grossman; Paul McAlpine; Melissa Hill; K.P. Schleinitz; Hugh Brown ; Marcia Resnick; Mark Price .
  • This live album was originally released as a double LP in 1982, when the Talking Heads were still extremely active. Twenty-two years later, the bonus-laden, two-CD reissue serves as a fascinating in-concert document of the phases the band went through during its first five years. The late-'70s tracks on the first disc show the early version of the band in all its geeky glory, mixing spastic New Wave quirkiness, funk rhythms, and art-school lyrics. It's intriguing to hear the difference between some of the songs' inception and their eventual recorded versions, such as a relatively straightforward "Electricity (Drugs)," which would turn ominous and atmospheric on FEAR OF MUSIC.
  • The second disc captures the expanded, early-'80s version of the band, with extra musicians and backing vocalists in tow, tackling the fugue-like art-funk masterpieces of the aforementioned album and REMAIN IN LIGHT. It's all the more impressive to hear the interlocking of the guitars, keyboards, and percussion achieved without the benefit of studio overdubbing, and David Byrne's near-manic intensity is even more focused and affecting in the live setting. Even vinyl freaks/Heads maniacs who hung on to the original LP for two decades will need to get this, if only for the wealth of indispensable bonus tracks.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.147) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[S]howing off not only the Heads' acerbic intelligence but their flesh-and-blood force and humor."

Spin (p.90) - "[Y]ou get to hear just about every great song they wrote before 1982 in the same place..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.127) - "[A] gem....This two-disc set captures the punk attitude, brittle R&B vamps, and quirky lyrical trips of their early years." - Grade: A

Uncut (p.130) - 5 stars out of 5 - "[T]errifically thorough....[With] a previously unreleased and mesmeric nine-minute 'Born Under Punches'."

Magnet (p.97) - "[M]uch richer than 1984's STOP MAKING SENSE, capturing the concert highlights of a and that's wilder, fiercer and more soulful onstage than on any of its studio albums."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.127) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[A]n admirable document of the Talking Heads' in-concert evolution from jittery, lean new wave to powerhouse post-punk-funk."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Wave
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads [Expanded] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top