SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

My Soul

Album: My Soul
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Ain’t New To This Album Version More Info... 2:31
2)    So Cold Album Version More Info... 3:44
3)    The Fact Is Album Version More Info... 4:09
4)    I Want It All Album Version More Info... 3:33
5)    Party All Night Album Version More Info... 4:03
6)    Mr. Incredible - Ms. Unforgetable Album Version More Info... 3:53
7)    Tell Me You Love Me Album Version More Info... 3:31
8)    Let It Roll Album Version More Info... 2:45
9)    Supa Luva Album Version More Info... 4:53
10)    If It’s Wrong Album Version More Info... 3:21
11)    It’s Over Album Version More Info... 3:28
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Leela James (vocals, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Seth Presant.
  • Recording information: Dungeon East Studios, Atlanta, GA; Fluid, New York, NY; Rozlab, Los Angeles, CA; The Hampton Studios, Marlton, NJ; The Hits, Baltimore, MD; The Supe Kitchen, Mt. Vernon, NY.
  • Photographer: Devin DeHaven.
  • Let's Do It Again, a covers album released on an independent label in 2009, fared significantly better on the charts than Leela James' 2005 debut, a major-label release. One could interpret this irony as a case of a major mishandling an artist, but it's just as likely that it took a few years for word about James to spread. She's one of those R&B singers whose `70s-throwback voice belies her birth year (1983), built more for a steady career and a slowly developing fan base than overnight platinum success. Now on Stax, longtime home of Mavis Staples (one of her most evident inspirations), James finds herself in an ideal setting. My Soul is James' best yet in every way. It does not feature quite as many big-name collaborators or eye-popping elements as her debut, but the material is stronger, more balanced between vintage and contemporary sounds, and James sounds more comfortable in her voice. Just as important is that she is coming into her own as a songwriter; four of the songs were written entirely by her, and they are among the album's most affecting moments, ranging from the yearning, dropped-guard "So Cold," to the forceful "I Want It All," to the carefree "Let It Roll." Do make sure you stay until the end, through the steamy "Supa Luva" and "If It's Wrong," as well as the deadly "It's Over" ("That's why I changed the locks on my door, `cause love don't live here no more"). ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Billboard (p.28) - "Conjuring soul sisters Aretha Franklin, Betty Wright, Mavis Staples and Millie Jackson, James puts her unique emotional stamp on the churchy 'The Fact Is,' the smoky groove 'Party All Night' and the emphatic 'Tell Me You Love Me.'"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling My Soul on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top