How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Most of the Animals [EMI Bonus Tracks]

Album: The Most of the Animals [EMI Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    House of the Rising Sun
2)    We Gotta Get Out of This Place
3)    Roadrunner
4)    Let the Good Times Roll
5)    Hallelujah, I Love Her So
6)    I'm Gonna Change the World
7)    Bring It on Home to Me
8)    Worried Life Blues
9)    Baby Let Me Take You Home
10)    For Miss Caulker
11)    I Believe to My Soul
12)    How You've Changed
13)    Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
14)    It's My Life
15)    Club A Go Go
16)    I'm Crying
Product Details


1. House Of The Rising Sun

2. We've Gotta Get Out Of This Place

3. Roadrunner

4. Let The Good Times Roll

5. Hallelujah I Love Her So

6. I'm Gonna Change The World

7. Bring It On Home To Me

8. Worried Life Blues

9. Baby Let Me Take You Home

10. For Miss Caulker

11. I Believe To My Soul

12. How You've Changed

13. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

14. It's My Life

15. Club A Go Go

16. I'm Crying

Performer Notes
  • The 1966 singles anthology MOST OF THE ANIMALS is a solid 16-track overview of the first phase of the Newcastle-based blues-rockers' career, before singer Eric Burdon formed a new lineup of the band in the U.S. and scored more hits with a gentler psychedelic sound.
  • U.K. remaster.
  • The Most of the Animals from EMI is only about the 15th Animals compilation CD to come on the market since the 1980s -- its title is a play on the name of their producer from that era, Mickie Most. It does offer the virtue of particularly good sound, however, so much so that you can even hear Hilton Valentine's quietly understated rhythm guitar behind Alan Price's organ on "Hallelujah, I Love Her So," and John Steel's drumming on "We've Gotta Get Out of This Place" is presented in sharp relief. As much as any 49-minute/16-song collection can, this disc offers a decent cross section of the group's early work. Serious fans will opt for the two Japanese EMI mini-LP-style reissues containing everything from this era in perfect sound, while lazier, more casual ones will choose the ABKCO Records domestic compilation, which has much poorer fidelity, but as a mid-priced import -- even without any annotation -- this is a pretty solid compromise and an okay place to stop, as far as the group's most successful years are concerned (if that's where one wants to stop). There aren't any surprises -- there couldn't be with a catalog this ubiquitous -- and the song order is a bit haphazard, but short of opting for the Complete Animals EMI set, this is a decent choice. ~ Bruce Eder
Professional Reviews
Q (May 2002, p.126) - 3 out of 5 stars - "...Linchipins of England's early R&B scene....If you're a newcomer, you'll be wowed..."
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top