Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Metamodern Sounds in Country Music [Slipcase] *

Album: Metamodern Sounds in Country Music [Slipcase] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Turtles (All the Way Down)
2)    Life of Sin
3)    Living the Dream
4)    Voices
5)    Long White Line
6)    Promise, The
7)    Little Light, A
8)    Just Let Go
9)    It Ain't All Flowers
10)    Pan Bowl [Bonus Track]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Tributee: Ora.
  • Personnel: Sturgill Simpson (vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Laur Joamets (electric guitar, slide guitar); Dave Cobb (classical guitar, percussion); Mike Webb (Mellotron, keyboards); Kevin Black (bass guitar); Miles Miller (drums, percussion, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Dave Cobb; Sturgill Simpson.
  • Recording information: LCS, Nashville, TN.
  • Sturgill Simpson won many fans with his 2013 debut album, High Top Mountain. It is unapologetic in its evocation of '70s outlaw country. For his sophomore date, he and his band entered a Nashville studio with producer/engineer Dave Cobb (Jason Isbell), and cut Metamodern Sounds in Country Music live-to-tape in four days. These songs and their production values, though immediately reconizable, are more varied and textured than those of his debut--there's no pedal steel here for one thing. The Waylon Jennings-esque quality in Simpson's singing voice remains, but that's built in. His songwriting and confidence have grown exponentially. The set is introduced by his 82-year-old coal-mining grandfather Dood Fraley on opener and first single "Turtles All the Way Down." The track features Cobb's nylon-string guitar, the wafting tapes of a Mellotron, electric bass, acoustic and electric guitars, and sharp drums framing Simpson's lyrics that refer to Jesus, the Old Testament, Buddha, mythology, cosmology, drugs, and physics, before concluding that "love is the only thing that saved my life," making it a glorious cosmic cowboy song. On the rocking "Life of Sin," Simpson's acoustic guitar meets Laur Joamets' razor-sharp Telecaster leads in a cut-time shuffle that explodes in a country boogie. "Voices" addresses the collective and troubled history about coal-mining with wisdom--all inside a spacious yet lean three-minute country song. There are two covers here: One is a killer reading of Charlie Moore's and Bill Napier's trucker anthem "Long White Line" that careens and chugs with Joamets' razor-wire Telecaster and Simpson's flatpicking. The other is "The Promise." Originally a hit for the British pop band When in Rome in 1989, Simpson utterly transforms it into a progressive honky tonk love song and makes it his own. "A Little Light" is rockabilly-country-gospel with wrangling guitars, handclaps, ragged-but-right vocal harmonies, and plenty of spiritual swagger. "Just Let Go" is Buddhist gospel, with gorgeous harmonies, spiralling mellotron, slide guitars, poetic lyrics, and organ--it's one of the set's finest moments. It introduces the acid-drenched psychedelic country that is "It Ain't All Flowers." Simpson's prescient, philosophical lyrics are framed inside phased, wah-wah'ed, and reverbed guitars, crunchy snares, haunting mellotron, spacy slide lines, and instrumental backmasking that wind into the stratosphere. His strident, passionate vocal is so tough, soulful and spiny, it bleeds through genre definitions as it rocks, rolls, and wails. Metamodern Sounds in Country Music is wildly adventurous; it extends the musical promise outlaw music made to listeners over 40 years ago. Simpson is too honest, restless and dedicated to country music's illustrious legacy to simply frame it as a musical museum piece. As an artist of uncommon ability, he has learned from its hallowed lineage and storied past that in order for it to evolve, it cannot be reined in; it must be free to roam in order to create its future. His visionary work on this album opens the gate wide on that frontier. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "This is a record that is equal parts haunted, tender and trippy."

Paste (magazine) - "Cobb's warm production can't be overstated -- it holds the entire thing together and also makes METAMODERN SOUNDS a shelf-worthy addition next to the greats."

Pitchfork (Website) - "He may be a big thinker, but when it comes to the primacy of the song in country music, Simpson is a traditionalist."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Metamodern Sounds in Country Music [Slipcase] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top