COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Mary Chapin Carpenter - Come On Come On


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mary-Chapin Carpenter (vocals, acoustic guitar); Joe Diffie (vocals); John Jennings (acoustic & electric guitars, bass, percussion, programming, background vocals); John Jorgenson, Mike McAdam (electric guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Paul Franklin (pedal steel); Jon Carroll (piano, synthesizer, background vocals); Matt Rollings, John Jarvis (piano); Benmont Trench (Hammond B-3 organ); Edgar Meyer (acoustic bass); J.T. Brown (bass, background vocals); Denny Dadmun-Bixby, Bob Glaub (bass); Robbie Magruder, Andy Newmark (drums); Amy Ray, Emily Saliers, Shawn Colvin, Rosanne Cash (background vocals).
  • Producers: John Jennings, Mary-Chapin Carpenter, Steve Buckingham.
  • Recorded at Bias Studios, Springfield, Virginia and The Doghouse,
  • Nashville, Tennessee.
  • "Passionate Kisses" won the 36th Annual Grammy Awards for Country Vocalist, Female and Country Song.
  • "He Thinks He'll Keep Her" was nominated for Record Of The Year in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
  • From COME ON COME ON's opening song, "The Hard Way," the listener is immediately struck with the fact that Mary-Chapin Carpenter's pop/folk songs are not the usual country fare.
  • The Cajun rave-up "Down At The Twist And Shout," with Cajun band Beausoleil, joyously turns the perception of a honky tonk around on its boot heels. The humorous "I Feel Lucky," romps through a world of horoscopes and lotteries, where Carpenter sits at a bar with "Dwight a corner trying to catch my eye, Lyle Lovett's right beside me with his hand on my thigh...I feel lucky." She belts it out, country style, in the punchy "Passionate Kisses" and the hooky "Walking Through Fire."
  • As with most of her songs, the moody monologue "I Am A Town" distills complex emotions from terse, taut poetic lyrics. Even the irrepressible "I Take My Chances" has a studied, articulate statement underlying it. In this one, she stands on a train track while a train approaches, "...just to see how my heart would react." "He Thinks He'll Keep Her" is a narrative of the dissolution of a fifteen-year-old marriage; with its driving beat and pondering melody, we are taken from despair to hope.
  • This hit-laden disc should draw even more listeners to the genre-busting music of the the warm, literate voice of Mary-Chapin Carpenter.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (1/7/93, p.124) - Ranked #7 in Entertainment Weekly's list of the Top 10 Albums Of 1992.

Entertainment Weekly (7/17/92, p.54) - "...Carpenter's sharpest, least wimpy record...she sings these songs with a new edge and directness....In essence, she has discovered her backbone..." - Rating: A

Q (1/93, p.70) - Included in Q's list of the 50 Best Albums Of 1992.

Q (10/92, p.81) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Carpenter lets her whole self loose in her music...she sings with the rare cheesewire cut of Hank Williams..."

Musician (9/92, p.106) - "...Too tuneful to be marginalized and too smart to settle for hack work, Carpenter is less a product of Nashville's rejuvination than proof that the singer/songwriter aesthetic is back..."

Audio Magazine (9/92, p.105) - "...Mary-Chapin Carpenter's evolution as a songwriter and artist continues...a thoroughly entertaining album..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Mary Chapin Carpenter - Come On Come On on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top