Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Compilation producers: Martin Scorsese, Peter Guralnick.
  • Includes liner notes by Martin Scorsese and Peter Guralnick.
  • Personnel: John Lee Hooker, Johnny Shines, Ali Farka Tour?, Muddy Waters, Robert Johnson, Salif Keita, Son House, Willie King, Charley Patton (vocals, guitar); Taj Mahal (vocals, slide guitar, harmonica); Otha Turner (vocals, fife, bass drum); Napoleon Strickland (vocals, fife); Fatoumata Traore (vocals); Corey Harris, Eddie Kirkland, Aaron Hodge, Percy Thomas (guitar); Fiddlin' Joe Martin, Louis Ford (mandolin); Leroy Williams (harmonica); Sunnyland Slim (piano); Frank Kirkland (drums); Aubrey Turner (bass drum); Otha Andre Evans, Rodney Evans (snare drum); Souleye Kane (djembe); Songhai (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Martin Czembor.
  • Liner Note Authors: Martin Scorsese; Peter Guralnick.
  • Recording information: Bamako, Mali (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Chicago, IL (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Dallas, TX (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Detroit, MI (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Grafton, WI (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Hollywood, CA (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Klack's Store, Lake Cormorant, MS (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); London, England (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); New York, NY (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Niafunke, Mali (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Prairie Point, MS (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Senatobia, MS (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); St. Ann's Warehouse, Brooklyn, NY (10/??/1929-04/19/2002); Stovall, MS (10/??/1929-04/19/2002).
  • Photographers: David Gahr; Valerie Wilmer; Frank Driggs; James Fraher; John W. Work III.
  • Arranger: Taj Mahal.
  • Drawn from the soundtrack to Martin Scorsese's seven-part television documentary on the blues, Feel Like Going Home documents the roots behind the roots, traveling from the American South to West Africa and back again, resulting in a remarkable collection that spotlights the past, present, and future of this historically important musical genre. From early 78s by seminal figures Charley Patton ("High Water Everywhere"), Son House (his early version of "Death Letter," here called "My Black Mama"), and Robert Johnson ("Hellhound on My Trail"), through field recordings collected by the venerable Alan Lomax (an early Muddy Waters tune called "Rosalie," which includes rough-hewn country fiddle from Henry "Son" Simms) and the restructured contemporary African blues of Ali Farka Toure and Salif Keita, this fine soundtrack knocks the dust off of the blues and exposes its vital and creative center. Highlights include the wild and eerie sound of Othar Turner and Napoleon Strickland's fife and drum ensembles and the up-to-the-minute trance-inducing blues of Willie King & the Liberators. On "Terrorized," King sings: "You talk about terror/I've been terrorized all my life. "That's the blues, circa 2003. Feel Like Going Home is a fine introduction to the long history and promising future of this impressive musical form. ~ Steve Leggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Martin Scorsese Presents the Blues: Feel Like Going Home on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top