SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Make Believe

Album: Make Believe
# Song Title   Time
1)    Beverly Hills
2)    Perfect Situation
3)    This Is Such a Pity
4)    Hold Me
5)    Peace
6)    We Are All on Drugs
7)    Damage in Your Heart, The
8)    Pardon Me
9)    My Best Friend
10)    Other Way, The
11)    Freak Me Out
12)    Haunt You Every Day
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Weezer: Scott Shriner, Rivers Cuomo, Pat Wilson, Brian Bell .
  • Personnel: Stephanie Eitel (vocals); Doug Forsdick (guitar); Akiko Turamoto, Akiko Tarumoto (violin); Jason Freese (saxophone).
  • Additional personnel: Stephanie Eitel (background vocals); Jason Freese, Akiko Tarumoto.
  • Audio Mixers: Rich Castey; Josh Abraham; Alan Moulder; Neal Avron; Rich Costey.
  • Recording information: Cello Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Grandmaster Recorders, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Hensen Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005); Henson Studios, Los Angeles, CA (12/2003-02/2005).
  • Illustrator: Carson Ellis.
  • Photographers: Karl Koch; Sean Murphy.
  • Weezer opens its fifth record, 2005's MAKE BELIEVE, with the single "Beverly Hills," an anthemic slice of power-pop with a sing-along chorus and heart-on-the-sleeve vocals. The song makes it seem as though Weezer hadn't changed a speck since the band captured hearts of MTV fans and indie rockers alike with its 1994 eponymous debut. However, what follows is one of the quartet's most musically mature efforts--a diverse, gratifying album filled with Beatlesque hooks and guided by the skilled hand of producer Rick Rubin.
  • As frontman Rivers Cuomo shines a flashlight on himself with trademark insecurity on lines like "I have many doubts about my motives" and "I'm not the toughest guy," his voice quavers and quakes in the innocent style that has endeared him to so many. The mood of MAKE BELIEVE roams from the desperate late-night isolation of the piano-led "Perfect Situation" to the love-gone-wrong vibe of the synthesizer-heavy "This Is Such a Pity." The album ends on the lovelorn, weeping-guitar loneliness of "Haunt You Every Day," and it's clear that Cuomo is still a sad, pining poet in search of elusive serenity, but the group's songcraft is ever growing.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.74) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since PINKERTON....Not since Brian Wilson has an L.A.-pop mastermind gotten such musical mileage out of wanting to be an ordinary guy..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.106) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Cuomo's nerdy every-kid persona continues to shine."

Paste (magazine) - "'Pardon Me' is Cuomo at his self-pitying best, a wistful bit of self-recrimination only Weezer can pull of without sounding completely absurd."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Make Believe on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top