Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Lucinda Williams

Album: Lucinda Williams
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Just Wanted To See You So Bad
2)    Night's Too Long, The
3)    Abandoned
4)    Big Red Sun Blues
5)    Like A Rose
6)    Changed The Locks
7)    Passionate Kisses
8)    Am I Too Blue
9)    Crescent City
10)    Side Of The Road
11)    Price To Pay
12)    I Asked For Water (He Gave Me Gasoline)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Lucinda Williams Band: Lucinda Williams (vocals, acoustic guitar); Gurf Morlix (vocals, acoustic guitar, 6- & 12-string electric guitars, madolin, dobro, lap steel guitar, pedal steel, bass); Dr. John Ciambotti (acoustic & electric basses); Donald Lindley (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Taj Mahal (guitar, harmonica); Doug Atwell (fiddle); Juke Logan (harmonica); Chris Gaffney (accordion); Skip Edwards (keyboards); Steve Mugalian (washboard).
  • Producers: Lucinda Williams, Gurf Morlix, Brian Cullman.
  • Reissue producer: John C. Porter.
  • Recorded at Mad Dog Studios, Venice, California in June 1988. Includes liner notes by Miller Williams.
  • After releasing two traditional country blues albums in 1978 and 1980, Louisiana-born singer/songwriter Lucinda Williams all but disappeared for the majority of the decade. She reemerged with a self-titled third album in 1989. Williams' country blues roots are very much in evidence all over LUCINDA WILLIAMS, particularly on a scorching cover of Howlin' Wolf's "I Asked for Water (He Gave Me Gasoline)." But there's a newfound experimental urge here as well, not least in the fact that the album was originally released on the legendary British post-punk label Rough Trade. This brought Williams' music out of the archivist corner and into the pop marketplace, a change heralded by the absolutely perfect pop song "Passionate Kisses"-the video for which even made it into heavy rotation on MTV's alternative music shows! This reissue includes four live traditional country blues tracks recorded in 1983 and originally found on the "Passionate Kisses" CD single.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It deserves as much credit as any album for spearheading the so-called Americana movement, country's post-punk equivalent."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lucinda Williams on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top