Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Love Songs [Rhino]

Album: Love Songs [Rhino]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Just the Two of Us
2)    Winelight
3)    Come Morning
4)    Best Is Yet to Come, The
5)    Jamming
6)    East River Drive
7)    Let It Flow
8)    Cassie's Theme
9)    Be Mine (Tonight)
10)    In the Name of Love
11)    Jet Stream
12)    Answer in Your Eyes, The
13)    Reaching Out
Product Details


1. Just The Two Of Us

2. Winelight

3. Come Morning

4. The Best Is Yet To Come

5. Jamming

6. East River Dance

7. Let It Flow (For DJ J)

8. Cassies Theme

9. Be Mine

10. In The Name Of Love

11. Jet Stream

12. The Answer In Your Eyes

13. Reaching Out

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Grover Washington Jr. (soprano & tenor saxophones, flute); Bill Withers, Patti Labelle, Grady Tate (vocals); Billy Childs (piano, synthesizer); Richard Tee (Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards); Marcus Miller (synthesizer, bass); Dexter Wansel (synthesizer); Eric Gale, Lee Ritenour (guitar); Cedric Napoleon, Abe Laboriel (bass); Steve Gadd, Harvey Mason, Buddy Williams (drums); Ralph MacDonald (congas, Syndrums, shaker, bells, percussion); Victor Feldman, Leonard "Doc" Gibbs (percussion).
  • Producers: Grover Washington Jr., Ralph MacDonald, Dexter Wansel, Nathan Sassover.
  • Compilation producer: Barry Benson.
  • Engineers include: Richard Alderson, Pete Humphries, Dennis Sands.
  • Includes liner notes by Janine Coveney.
  • Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch and Bill Inglot (DigiPrep).
  • Personnel: Grover Washington, Jr. (saxophone); Bill Withers (vocals); Eric Gale (guitar); Richard Tee (Fender Rhodes piano); Dexter Wansel (synthesizer); Ed Walsh, Bill Eaton (Oberheim synthesizer); Millard Vinson, Robert Greenidge, Steve Gadd (drums); Ralph MacDonald (congas, percussion); Leonard "Doc" Gibbs (percussion); Ullanda McCullough, Yvonne Lewis, Zachary Sanders, Hilda Harris (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Rhino in the U.K. issued this so-called Platinum Collection. It is a single disc of 13 tracks from Grover Washington, Jr.'s period with Elektra, beginning with 1980's Come Morning and running through 1984's Inside Moves, when he jumped ship for Columbia. There were certainly hit records during the period, "Winelight" being the biggest, and Washington's singles charted, but his albums had become lackluster and the compilers of this knew it, which is why there are cross-licensed tunes from other labels such as the smash duet with Bill Withers on the Ralph McDonald-penned "Just the Two of Us." Truth of the matter is, this is an exact copy of the WEA International compilation called Definitive Grover Washington, Jr.: The Elektra Years and the previous Rhino edition called 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection: The Best of Grover Washington, Jr. It has little to recommend it. Any real Grover Washington collection has to include cuts from his Kudu and Motown periods just to get started. It is far more advisable to pick up the Hip-O collection entitled Ultimate Collection. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Love Songs [Rhino] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top