Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Live Stock

Album: Live Stock: A Street Called Straight
# Song Title   Time
1)    Reelin' and Rockin'
2)    Hot Cha
3)    Further on Up the Road
4)    Roy's Bluz
5)    Can I Change My Mind
6)    I'm a Ram
7)    I'm Evil
8)    Running Out
9)    Keep What You Got
10)    Man on the Floor
11)    Good God Have Mercy
12)    Okay
13)    Caruso
14)    My Friend Jeff
15)    If Six Was Nine
16)    Guitar Cadenza
17)    Messiah Will Come Again, The
18)    I Still Think About Ida Mae
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD: LIVE STOCK (1975)/ A STREET CALLED STRAIGHT (1976).
  • Personnel: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); Byrd Foster (vocals, drums, background vocals); John Harrison (vocals, background vocals); Billy Price Keystone Rhythm Band (vocals); Buddy Lucas (harmonica); Malcolm Lukens (keyboards); Ken Bichell (ARP synthesizer); Gonzalo Sifre (drums, percussion); Andy Newmark (drums); Billy Cobham (timbales, tom tom); Rubens Bassini (percussion); Diane Sumler, David Brigati, Eddie Brigati, Luther Vandross, Robin Clark (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
  • Audio Remixers: Gene Paul; Lewis Hahn; Arif Mardin.
  • Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
  • Recording information: Audio Innovators, Pittsburgh, PA (11/17/1974); Electric Lady, Atlanta, GA (11/17/1974); Media & Record Plant Studios (11/17/1974); Town Hall, New York, NY (11/17/1974).
  • Photographers: David Aschkenas; Houghton ; Earl Steinbicker.
  • The U.K. based Beat Goes On label continues their series of Roy Buchanan two-fers. This one finds the artist at a distinct professional crossroads. After his ultimately discordant relationship with Polydor came to an end, the label finally showed the good sense to issue Live Stock (1975) -- which was primarily documented at Town Hall in New York City on November 27, 1974. The notable exception being the six-plus minute take of "I'm Evil" -- recorded the following March at the Amazing Grace club in Evanston, IN. Supporting Buchanan's consummate strings during the Town Hall appearance are Billy Price (vocals), John Harrison (bass), Malcolm Lukens (keyboards), and Byrd Foster (drums/vocals). There are several outstanding entries scattered throughout Live Stock. With the focus properly placed on Buchanan's fluid fretwork, the update of Al Green's greasy "I'm a Ram," as well as the deadly accuracy with which he lays line upon line of incendiary guitar during "Further on Up the Road" are nothing short of exemplary examples of his nimble mastery in the context of a live performance. A Street Called Straight (1976) marked the start of a three-album deal for Buchanan on Atlantic Records where he retained the services of Harrison (bass), Lukens (keyboards), and Foster (drums/vocals). The move meant that Buchanan and company also gained the skills of label veteran Arif Mardin, who brought along session all-stars Andy Newmark (drums), Will Lee (bass), Billy Cobham (percussion), the Brecker Brothers' horn section, and vocals from former Rascals' member Eddie Brigati. The direction that Mardin takes the ensemble certainly works to the advantage of the guitarist, who likewise provided nine of the long player's 11 cuts. Again, at the center of each number is Buchanan's unmatched sonic imprint. From the opening wail of "Running Out" through to the funkified "Keep What You Got" or the organic remake of Jimi Hendrix's "If Six Was Nine," any or all of these could be considered essential listening. As is the new reading of the Buchanan staple "The Messiah Will Come Again" -- a tune that dates all the way back to his earliest known originals, when he was the leader of Buck & the Snake Stretchers (1971). ~ Lindsay Planer
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Live Stock: A Street Called Straight on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top