Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » General » MP3 Downloads » World


The Island Anthology

Artist: Black Uhuru

Elsewhere $41.92 $26.95   Save $14.97 (36%)
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Mango
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Liberation: The Island Anthology
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Chill Out More Info... 6:03
2)    Party Next Door More Info... 5:57
3)    Black Uhuru Anthem More Info... 5:37
4)    Guess Who's Coming To Dinner Discomix More Info... 6:03
5)    Shine Eye Gal Live More Info... 4:32
6)    Sponji Reggae Discomix More Info... 10:30
7)    Wicked Act More Info... 3:29
8)    Botanical Roots More Info... 5:01
9)    Somebody's Watching You More Info... 5:49
10)    Utterance More Info... 3:45
11)    Slaughter More Info... 4:38
12)    I Love King Selassie Live More Info... 4:22
13)    Darkness / Dubness More Info... 7:11
14)    Elements More Info... 3:52
  Disc 2
1)    What Is Life? Original Jamaican Mix More Info... 5:46
2)    Youth Of Eglington Album Version More Info... 5:04
3)    Youth More Info... 3:50
4)    Right Stuff More Info... 5:56
5)    Whole World Is Africa More Info... 5:20
6)    Happiness Live More Info... 7:36
7)    Mondays/Killer Tuesdays More Info... 6:55
8)    Solidarity Zeus B Held Remix More Info... 4:15
9)    Ion Storm More Info... 3:50
10)    Try It Original Jamaican Mix More Info... 5:27
11)    Bull In The Pen More Info... 5:27
12)    Sinsemilla Album Version More Info... 5:13
13)    Puff She Puff Album Version More Info... 5:13
14)    Party In Session 12" Version More Info... 5:33

Performer Notes
  • LIBERATION: THE ISLAND ANOTHOLOGY contains the unedited version of the ANTHEM album (previously unreleased), rare mixes, and a previously unreleased live version of "Happiness."
  • Black Uhuru: Michael Rose, Sandra "Puma" Jones, Derrick "Duckie" Simpson (vocals).
  • Additional personnel includes: Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare (various instruments); Copeland Forbes (MC), Radcliff "Dougie" Bryan, Darryl Thompson, Mikey Chung, Ranchie McLean, Barry Reynolds, Willie Lindo (guitar); Jimmy Becker (harmonica); Dean Fraser (saxophone); David Madden, Chico Chin (trumpet); Nambo Robinson (trombone); Franklyn "Bubbler" Waul, Keith Sterling, Ansell Collins, Robbie Lyn (piano, keyboards); Bernie Worrell (Clavinet); Wally Badarou (keyboards, vocoder); Sky Juice, Sticky Thompson (percussion).
  • Producers: Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare, Black Uhuru, Steven Stanley.
  • Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
  • Includes liner notes by Tom Terrell and Harry Weinger.
  • Digitally remastered by Joseph M. Palmaccio (Polygram Studios).
  • This is part of the Chronicles series.
  • One of the most important and influential reggae bands of the 1970s and '80s, Black Uhuru cut the bulk of their best material on Island's Mango subsidiary. LIBERATION, a superb two-disc anthology, stands as a retrospective of the band's Island years, and a near-comprehensive sampler of their peak material. Led by the stirring, distinctive tenor of Michael Rose and the backing vocals of Sandra "Puma" Jones and Derrick "Duckie" Simpson, Black Uhuru combined a militant political consciousness, traditional Rasta themes, roots rhythms, and a sophisticated sound (that included synthesizers and electronic drums) for a fresh take on the genre.
  • All the group's best tracks are here, including "Sponji Reggae," "Chill Out," and "Sinsemilla," and Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare's production and drum and bass contributions (critical to the band's sound) are in full flower. LIBERATION is distinguished from most anthologies by its emphasis on live versions, alternate studio mixes (including extended dub treatments), and 12" singles. While these versions will certainly be of interest to collectors, they also stand alongside the band's highly refined studio work in quality and vision. For those not yet willing to take the dive with Black Uhuru's individual albums, LIBERATION is a can't-miss purchase, a cornerstone of any reggae collection.

Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (12/3/93, p.78) - "...a steamroller mix of anger and technology. This two-CD set commemorates the group's finest lineup..." - Rating: B+

Vibe (2/94, p.104) - "...Black Uhuru created some of the most edgy, militant, and musically sophisticated recordings in the history of reggae....These 28 tracks represent the cream of the cream of the group's work with Island Records..."

Format:CD (2 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Mixed
Release Date:18 November, 1994
Guest Artist: Bernie Worrell; Sly Dunbar; Robbie Shakespeare

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Liberation: The Island Anthology on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.