Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Legend of Johnny Cash

Album: The Legend of Johnny Cash
# Song Title   Time
1)    Cry! Cry! Cry!
2)    Hey Porter
3)    Folsom Prison Blues
4)    I Walk the Line
5)    Get Rhythm
6)    Big River
7)    Guess Things Happen That Way
8)    Ring of Fire
9)    Jackson
10)    Boy Named Sue, A - (live)
11)    Sunday Morning Coming Down
12)    Man in Black
13)    One Piece at a Time
14)    Highwayman
15)    Wanderer, The
16)    Delia's Gone
17)    Rusty Cage
18)    I've Been Everywhere
19)    Give My Love to Rose
20)    Man Comes Around, The - (Early Take, early take)
21)    Hurt
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Remasterers: Dana Smart; Gavin Lurssen.
  • Liner Note Author: Rich Kienzle.
  • Recording information: San Quentin Prison, CA.
  • Photographers: Don Hunstein; Jim Marshall ; David Gahr; Les Leverett; Alan Messer.
  • Not to be confused with the LEGEND box set released around the same time in 2005, THE LEGEND OF JOHNNY CASH is the first single-disc compilation to span the country icon's entire recorded career. Although whittling Cash's massive catalogue down to a single disc is virtually futile, the Hip-O label has done an admirable job, resulting in a well-chosen 21-track history of the late Man in Black.
  • THE LEGEND OF JOHNNY CASH begins with the singer/songwriter's initial 1950s studio sessions for the revered Sun Records--"Cry! Cry! Cry!" and "Hey Porter"--which confidently introduced the world to Cash's distinctive deep vocals and spare, "boom-chicka-boom" sound. While other career-defining Sun singles are present (most notably, "Folsom Prison Blues" and "I Walk the Line"), Cash's decades with Columbia and his brief stint with Mercury are quickly skimmed over in favor of the numerous tracks from his lauded '90s/'00s American recordings. Stand-outs from that era include his haunting reworking of "Delia's Gone," the swaggering "I've Been Everywhere," and his minimal take on "The Man Comes Around." Though longtime Cash fans will already own most of this material, the collection works wonderfully as a concise introduction to his near-mythic career.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Legend of Johnny Cash on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top