Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: LateNightTales
# Song Title   Time
1)    Connexion
2)    Vaudeville Villain
3)    Yama Yama
4)    Play The Drum
5)    Charity Shop Soundclash
6)    Free Salute
7)    Thickfreakness
8)    Dreamer - (previously unreleased, featuring Nesreen Shah)
9)    Dirt
10)    Sheba
11)    Dark Side Of The Sun, The - (featuring Puppetmastaz)
12)    Ms. Fat Booty
13)    I Got 5 On It [Original Clean Short Mix] - (remix)
14)    Grey Harpoon
15)    Reasons
16)    Dreamy Days
17)    Break The Lock
18)    I Believe
19)    Olio
20)    Choice Of Three, A
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • With Alex Turner currently preoccupied with his Last Shadow Puppets side project, Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders makes a rare venture into the limelight with his contribution to the Late Night Tales series. Essentially an iPod shuffle playlist of his favorite tunes, the 20-track compilation shows that the Yorkshire sticksman's influences extend far beyond the angular post-punk and poetic indie rock sounds that dominate his day job. Indeed, despite forging an unlikely friendship with P. Diddy, it's still a revelation to see a track list which suggests a longtime love affair with hip-hop, with obscurities from both European MCs (DJ Format's "Charity Shop Soundclash," Modeselektor feat. Puppetmastaz's "Dark Side of the Sun") and U.S. rappers (Viktor Vaughn's "Vaudeville Villain," Ty's "Break the Lock") nestling alongside vintage urban classics such as Luniz's stoner anthem "I Got 5 on It" and Mos Def's Aretha Franklin-sampling "Ms. Fat Booty." There are still a few forays into more familiar territory, such as the garage rock of the Stooges' "Dirt," the New York dance-punk of the Rapture's "Olio," and the Scouse folk of the Coral's "Grey Harpoon." But for the most part, Helders uses the opportunity to showcase his eclectic tastes thanks to tracks like Goblin's theme to the Italian alien exploitation movie Contamination ("Connexion"), Johnny & the Hurricanes' '60s rock & roll instrumental "Sheba," and the delightfully bizarre Japanese-French psychedelic funk of Yamasuki's "Yama Yama." While these random selections are likely to leave much of his Monkeys' audience scratching their heads, there are two brand new tracks which should more than appease their bewilderment. "Dreamer" is an affectionate electro-clash cover of Livin' Joy's '90s dance classic, produced by Ross Orton (M.I.A.), while continuing the series' tradition of ending with a spoken word piece, "A Choice of Three" is a charming tale of a love triangle both written and narrated by bandmate Turner himself. Like most of the series releases, Helders' mixtape is a hodge-podge of sounds which is unlikely to be entirely appreciated by many, but it's still an intriguing insight into the musical mindset of one of the noughties' best drummers, which is just as likely to provide a few undiscovered gems for the band's detractors as it is for their huge fan base. ~ Jon O'Brien
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling LateNightTales on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top