Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Last First Kiss *

Album: Last First Kiss *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Kiss
2)    Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You
3)    You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
4)    Let's Just Say It
5)    Some on Strong
6)    I'll Never Have Enough of You
7)    Oh Look at Me Now
8)    How Deep Is the Ocean
9)    Last First Kiss
10)    They Can't Take That Away From Me
11)    I Feel the Earth Move
12)    There Will Never Be Another You
13)    Lover's Lullabye
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tony DeSare (vocals, piano); Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar); Harry Allen, Bob Malach (tenor saxophone); Glenn Drewes (trumpet); Keith O'Quinn (trombone); Tedd Firth (piano, Hammond b-3 organ); Mike Lee (bass instrument); Brian Czach (drums).
  • Last First Kiss builds nicely upon vocalist/pianist Tony DeSare's superb 2005 debut album, Want You. A charming presence on the microphone with classic silver-screen good looks and a singer/songwriter's soul, DeSare not only updates such classic American popular song standards here as "Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You" and "How Deep Is the Ocean?," but also reinterprets such modern-day hits as "Kiss," turning Prince's iconic funk track into a slowed-down organ-driven shuffle. Similarly invigorating, DeSare dims the lights on Carole King's usually upbeat "I Feel the Earth Move" and delivers instead a brooding, Miles Davis-influenced afterglow version. It's just this kind of postmodern niftiness that stops Last First Kiss from being yet another solid yet predictable neo-crooner outing and turns it into a truly surprising listen. Also a pleasant surprise is DeSare's own songwriting, and here he showcases his knack for both classic jazz standard-influenced songcraft, as on the poignant "I'll Never Have Enough of You," as well as more contemporary rock-influenced writing, as evidenced by the sweetly melodic and bittersweet title track. Of course, at his core DeSare is a supremely gifted interpreter of jazz standards, and his softly melodic, straight-ahead take on "There Will Never Be Another You" mainlines heartbreak to your soul. Throw in a stellar backing ensemble, including bassist and co-writer Mike Lee, guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli, and tenor saxophonist Harry Allen, and Last First Kiss enters the race as an early contender for one of the best releases of 2007. ~ Matt Collar
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (p.60) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A]n intimate affair....DeSare doesn't need to rely on other songwriters to get his message across."

JazzTimes (p.82) - "DeSare's jaunty 'They Can't Take That Away From Me is distinctly Sinatra-esque and his stripped-bare 'How Deep Is the Ocean' is stunning in its heartfelt honesty."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Last First Kiss * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top