Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
The  Land of Many Churches

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Gospel » General

The Land of Many Churches

Artist: Merle Haggard (Recorded By)

Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Beat Goes On
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: The Land of Many Churches
# Song Title   Time
1)    Introduction/We'll Understand It Better by and By
2)    Medley: Take My Hand, Precious Lord/Jesus Hold My Hand
3)    Precious Memories
4)    History of Big Creek Baptist Church
5)    Turn Your Radio On
6)    If We Never Meet Again
7)    Closing Prayer: Just as I Am
8)    Introduction & Opening Prayer
9)    Amazing Grace
10)    Where Could I Go
11)    Medley: Old Time Religion/Pass Me Not/Sweet by and By
12)    Old Rugged Cross, The
13)    Closing Prayer
14)    Introduction
15)    Life's Railway to Heaven
16)    On the Jericho Road
17)    Steal Away
18)    I Saw the Light
19)    Introduction/Leaning on the Everlasting Arms
20)    Guid Me, Lord
21)    Family Bible, The
22)    I'll Be List'ning
23)    Just a Closer
24)    Closing Prayer

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Robbie Harden, Dennis Hromek, Bobby Wayne, Helen Carter, Johnny Gimble, Mother Maybelle Carter, Anita Carter, Herman Harper , Bonnie Owens (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
  • Liner Note Author: Maurice Hope.
  • Editor: John Tobler.
  • Here's one for the hardest of hardcore Merle Haggard believers (no pun intended). Released in 1971 between Hag and Someday We'll Look Back, this curio collects four live performances: two are in churches proper -- Big Creek Baptist Church and Assembly of God Tabernacle -- one is at San Quentin's Garden Chapel inside the prison, and one at Nashville's Union Rescue Mission. What's more, while two of these feature Hag with the Strangers -- including Bonnie Owens -- the other two find him backed by the Carter Family! As one can guess, the music rolls between country gospel and hymns, some with preachers introducing the numbers. It's all live, and the recordings are excellent, but this music is an acquired taste and, like a lot of Haggard's live records, it's uneven, but there are some fine moments. ~ Thom Jurek

Format:CD (0 Disc)
Country:United Kingdom
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:1 September, 2011
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Land of Many Churches on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.