Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
La  Petite Mort *

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock

La Petite Mort *

Artist: James

Elsewhere $45.01 $24.99   Save $20.02 (44%)
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Cooking Vinyl
Album: La Petite Mort *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Walk Like You
2)    Curse Curse
3)    Moving On
4)    Gone Baby Gone
5)    Frozen Britain
6)    Interrogation
7)    Bitter Virtue
8)    All in My Mind
9)    Quicken the Dead
10)    All I'm Saying

Performer Notes
  • Lyricist: Tim Booth .
  • Personnel: Tim Booth (vocals, background vocals); Saul Davies (guitar, violin, drums, percussion, background vocals); Larry Gott (guitar, background vocals); Andy Diagram (trumpet, background vocals); Mark Hunter (keyboards, background vocals); Jim Glennie (bass guitar, background vocals); David Baynton-Power (drums); Max Dingel (electronic drums); Larion Stolk (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Max Dingel.
  • Recording information: RAK Studios, London, UK (07/2013).
  • With a veteran group like James, it can be easy to praise them for merely outlasting many of their contemporaries as they diligently issue another solid late-career album. Such is the fate of many rock stalwarts in the eyes of the press and public. But 30 years on from their humble beginnings in early-'80s Manchester, James have aged gracefully, staring down their own mortality (both as a band and as individuals) with aplomb on their powerful 13th album, La Petite Mort (The Little Death). "Welcome to our coming of age, to embrace all that we've become" sings Tim Booth during the breakdown of epic album-opener "Walk Like You." This seven-minute opus full of horns and fiddles sets the tone for the rest of La Petite Mort's ten tracks, which were largely written following the death of both Booth's mother and his best friend. Such loss and grieving could have made for a decidedly more maudlin set, but part of James' lasting power has been their ability to keep their eyes on the horizon, and Booth's poetry here is beautiful for both its practicality and wit as he deals with the reaper head on. Even in reflection, he's more concerned with processing the moment and how to deal with what comes next, as on the band's uplifting single "Moving On." The album's title itself is a French euphemism for the feeling of post-orgasmic unconsciousness and the painted skull adorning the cover is a reference to Mexico's D?a de los Muertos celebration, which honors the dead through vibrant, colorful artwork and gift offerings. The amusing title and the Latin-themed visual motif are a perfect match for one of James' more moving and personal records as they offer a set of colorful new songs that sound more inspired than sad. La Petite Mort is a quality release and a welcome return for a band that refuses to sit down. ~ Timothy Monger

Producer:Max Dingel
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Country:United Kingdom
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:2 June, 2014
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling La Petite Mort * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.