Konvicted [CD/DVD] [Limited] [Parental Advisory]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tony Love (guitar); Giorgio Tuinfort (keyboards, programming); Luis Resto (keyboards); Michael Butler (drums); Hakim Abdulsamad (programming, background vocals); Dwight Reynolds "Skrapp", L.S. Troo, Eminem, Aliaume Thiam (programming).
  • Additional personnel: Eminem, Kardinal Offishall, Snoop Dogg, Styles P .
  • Audio Mixers: Eminem; Aliaume Thiam ; Leslie Brathwaite.
  • Photographer: Jonathan Mannion.
  • Arranger: Aliaume Thiam .
  • "Locked Up"'s success provided Akon with instant heavyweight clout. Upgraded from writing songs and doing the occasional hook for B-, C-, and D-level artists, he tallied a multi-platinum album, was granted his own boutique label (which was used to spawn T-Pain), and became in-demand as an A-list collaborator -- he worked with Young Jeezy, R. Kelly, Gwen Stefani, and even Elton John. His second album, Konvicted, isn't much different from the debut (patchiness included), even though it comes from a different perspective. He even addresses his newfound fame, along with the expectations and other forms of grief that come with it, in a vague but very saddened way throughout "The Rain." For the most part, though, Konvicted offers more ultra-macho R&B. The guest spots come from Eminem, Snoop Dogg, and Styles P, leaving no room for female hooks or verses. Akon hits on strippers (but does not fall in love with them), smacks behinds, and tends to go with what suits him best: bragging and seducing while delivering like-sounding hooks in his unique voice. Whenever the yearning and heartache is allowed through, he's not persuasive, and he sounds like he still has the club on his mind. [Some copies of the album came with a bonus DVD.] ~ Andy Kellman
  • DVD Features:
  • 1. The Journey Documentary
  • 2. "Smack That" Video
  • 3. "I Wanna Love You" Video
  • 4. "Don't Matter" Video
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.126) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Akon's silky, instantly recognizable vocals have made him an in-demand hook dude..."

Spin (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[S]natches of melodica, strutting piano, and lightly toasted reggae grooves keep the album firmly rooted."

Entertainment Weekly (p.127) - "With his sensitive-guy croon and ex-con vocabulary, Senegal-raised singer Akon is the R&B thug of the moment."

CMJ (p.40) - "Akon is an absolutely magnetic vocalist..."

Vibe (p.111) - "The album's a collection of immaculately constructed songs....Akon creates a comforting consistency..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Urban » Hip Hop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Konvicted [CD/DVD] [Limited] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.

Back to top