How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Keep on Your Mean Side [Parental Advisory]

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: Keep on Your Mean Side
# Song Title   Time
1)    Superstition
2)    Cat Claw
3)    Pull a U
4)    Kissy Kissy
5)    Fried My Little Brains
6)    Hand
7)    Hitched
8)    Black Rooster
9)    Wait
10)    Fuck the People
11)    Monkey 23
12)    Gypsy Death & You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Kills: Jamie Hotel (vocals, guitar, viola, harmonica, organ, drums, programming); V.V. Alison (vocals, guitar).
  • The first full-length album by the Kills, 2003's KEEP ON YOUR MEAN SIDE offers up a stirring collection of trans-Atlantic indie-blues/punk. Consisting of Floridian singer/guitarist Alison "VV" Mosshart and London-based singer/multi-instrumentalist Jamie "Hotel" Hince, the duo superficially warrant their many White Stripes comparisons, but the Kills' strong Velvet Underground and Pretenders leanings set them comfortably apart from Jack and Meg White. While the woozy "Kissy Kissy" channels VU through a Jesus & Mary Chain/Mazzy Star filter, "Fried My Little Brains" is a revved-up stomper, and "Wait" showcases Mosshart's powerful and expressive lead vocals. An assured and dynamic debut, MEAN SIDE kicks off the Kills' career with considerable verve and aplomb.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (5/15/03, p.130) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...The Kills are on intimate terms with betrayal and decay, and they make dark, kick-ass garage rock out of it..."

Magnet (4/03, p.95) - "...'Superstition' and 'Pull A U' recall PJ Harvey's rawer moments, that sense of enraged detachment smashing a cool front..."

CMJ (04/07/03, p.8) - "...No brotherly love and puppy dogs here....Simple, repetitive guitar riffs and vocals that are spit as often as they are sung..."

Mojo (Publisher) (01/01/04, p.58) - Ranked #23 in Mojo's "The Best of 2003"

Mojo (Publisher) (5/03, p.89) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...A record of substance, one that stands head and shoulders above today's garage bashers. Bruised and psychotic, it's a testament to the unstoppability and violence of human desire..."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Keep on Your Mean Side on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top