Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Invariable Heartache

Album: Invariable Heartache
# Song Title   Time
1)    Incredibly Lonely
2)    Eyes Look Away
3)    Special Day, A
4)    Pickin' Wld Mountain Berries
5)    Yours Forever
6)    He's Only a Memory Away
7)    She Came Around Last Night
8)    Penetration
9)    April's Fool
10)    I Can't Sleep with You
11)    Let's Think About Where We're Going
12)    Who's Gonna Love Me Now
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Cortney Tidwell, Kurt Wagner (vocals); Ryan Norris (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, organ); Ben Hall (acoustic guitar); William Tyler (electric guitar); Paul Niehaus (pedal steel guitar); Billy Conteras (fiddle); Tony Crow (piano); Adam Bednarik (acoustic bass, electric bass); Scott Martin (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Mark Nevers.
  • Liner Note Author: Jonathan Marx.
  • Recording information: Hap Town, Nashville; Starstruck, Nashville.
  • The aptly named Kort is a collaboration between Kurt Wagner and Cortney Tidwell, two Nashville musicians whose credentials lie well outside the Music City mainstream:ÿWagner fronts the long-running Lambchop; Tidwell has released a couple of electronic art-pop records. Invariable Heartache is their heartfelt, albeit idiosyncratic, tribute to their hometown's venerable tradition of commercially oriented country music. More specifically, it finds the duo, along with a crack ensemble of local players (most of them members of Lambchop and/or Tidwell's band) laying down a set of obscure cover tunes primarily drawn from the '60s and '70s catalog of Chart records, the label run by Tidwell's grandfather, A&R'd by her dad, and for which her late mother recorded. The material spans slick, tuneful country-pop, plenty of soulful ballads, a bit of '50s-ish R&B ("Yours Forever"), playful semi-novelty songs (the good-naturedly bawdy "Wild Mountain Berries"), and one truly bizarre oddity ("Penetration," which sounds like the group having some sort of post-modern laugh but was apparently the most scrupulously reverent arrangement here; one wonders if that includes Tony Crow's haunted, abstract, minute-long piano intro.) Though there's a definite tendency toward endearingly formulaic schmaltz, many of the selections offer some sort of ear-catching quirk or lyrical distinction, be it hokey wordplay -- as with "I Can't Sleep With You" [...On My Mind]" -- or an especially heart-rending sentiment, like the self-explanatory "Incredibly Lonely," which provides the album's more-accurate-than-not title. Crucially, the band brings just the right touch to these performances, their obvious fondness and reverence for the material never getting in the way of a loose, expressive feel, with some very fine bits of soloing and lots of enjoyably breezy ensemble playing. That's doubly true of the vocals, which in some ways could have been this project's most hit-or-miss element. As it turns out, Wagner's characteristically laconic, crotchety-sounding, hyper-articulated delivery pairs beautifully with Tidwell's versatile but generally sweet-as-pie pipes. Certainly, they generate enough of a rapport to make one wish that more than half of the tunes were proper duets; while Tidwell can manage an effortless, spine-tingling Patsy Cline evocation, her five vocal features (Wagner only gets one, sounding pitifully dour on the legitimately poetic "April's Fool") tend to be the record's weaker links. The exception there is the closer, and sole non-chart inclusion (her mother sang it for ABC/Dunhill), "Who's Gonna Love Me Now," which is about as immaculately devastating as you could wish. ~ K. Ross Hoffman
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.99) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] low-key, highly engaging covers album....It's a love story to Nashville..."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.94) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "For country aficionados, it's worth noting that there's a sweetness here that's missing from much of the Nashville machine's cookie-cutter product."

Uncut (magazine) (p.92) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Incredibly Lonely' is a busted ballad that hurts in all the right places..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Invariable Heartache on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top