Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Initiation
# Song Title   Time
1)    Real Man
2)    Born to Synthesize
3)    Death of Rock and Roll, The
4)    Eastern Intrigue
5)    Initiation
6)    Fair Warning
7)    Treatise on Cosmic Fire, A
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Todd Rundgren (vocals, guitar, sitar, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Rick Derringer (guitar, bass); Bob Rose (guitar); Dave Sanborn, Edgar Winter (saxophone); Roger Powell (nose flute, synthesizer); Moogy Klingman (organ); Ralph Schuckett (clavinet); John Siegler, Dan Hartman (bass); Kevin Ellman, John Wilcox, Roy Markowitz, Bernard Purdie, Rick Marotta, Chris Parker, Barry Lazarowitz (drums); Barbara Burton, Lee Pastora (percussion).
  • INITIATION took a lot of notice when it was first released in 1975, because of its technical oddity: at 68 minutes, it was and remains the longest single-disc-vinyl pop album ever, longer than some two-LP sets. Over half of that length is taken up by the 36-minute exploration "A Treatise on Cosmic Fire." Bookended by pyrotechnic guitar solos, most of the piece consists of a lengthy synthesizer solo that actually sounds like a lot of the electronica acts that appeared two decades later.
  • The other half of the album contains a pair of Rundgren's trademark pop-soul gems, "Real Man" and the title track; the SMILE-era Beach Boys homage "Eastern Intrigue," which foreshadows the genre exercises of Rundgren's next album, FAITHFUL; and an odd layered-vocals experiment called "Born to Synthesize." INITIATION is the first taste of the restless stylistic exploration that dominates the rest of Rundgren's career.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top