Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Infamous Stringdusters [Slipcase] *

Album: The Infamous Stringdusters [Slipcase] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Won't Be Coming Back
2)    Well, Well
3)    When Silence Is the Only Sound
4)    Bound for Tennessee
5)    Glass Elevator
6)    Three Days in July
7)    Way I See You Now, The
8)    Golden Ticket
9)    I Wonder
10)    Get It While You Can
11)    You Can't Handle the Truth
12)    Lovin' You
13)    Black Rock
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Infamous Stringdusters: Andy Hall (vocals, dobro, background vocals); Jeremy Garrett (vocals, fiddle, background vocals); Travis Book (vocals, bass guitar); Andy Falco (guitar); Chris Pandolfi (banjo, background vocals); Jesse Cobb (mandolin, background vocals).
  • Personnel: Andy Falco (guitar, background vocals); Tim O'Brien (bouzouki, background vocals); Erick Jaskowiak, Ryan Baker (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Dave Sinko.
  • It's always great to see youngsters take up the bluegrass/acoustic cause and bring it into the future, carrying on the tradition while adding new musical elements. It was great when the Country Gentlemen did it in the 1960s, when the Seldom Scene did it in the 1970s, when the Tony Rice/David Grisman crowd did it in the 1980s, and when Nickel Creek did it in the 1990s, and it's great that the Infamous Stringdusters are doing it in the new century. In truth, despite the Stringdusters' very traditional instrumentation, their music is hardly bluegrass at all; most of the songs on their second, eponymous album are original compositions, none are traditional or classic bluegrass numbers, and many of them have little in common with bluegrass -- the chopping mandolin offbeats and occasional banjo solos are the only really old-school elements that remain. Not that there's anything wrong with that, of course -- at their best, the Infamous Stringdusters are excellent songwriters and even better singers in a sort of newgrass/acoustic country vein, and their best material includes songs like the sprightly but regretful "Won't Be Coming Back," the gorgeously arranged "The Way I See You Now," and the very fine instrumental "Golden Ticket." However, at their worst they have a tendency to let their virtuosity overcome their musical judgment. "When Silence Is the Only Sound," in particular, is so full of fancy chords that its melody ends up meandering aimlessly and never taking any kind of definite shape. However, most of this album treads very deftly on the fine line separating forward-thinking modernism and the old-school verities, and the singing is always first-rate. Recommended. ~ Rick Anderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Infamous Stringdusters [Slipcase] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top