Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]

Album: I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Waitin' on the Sky
2)    Little Emperor
3)    Gulf of Mexico, The
4)    Molly-O
5)    God Is God
6)    Meet Me in the Alleyway
7)    Every Part of Me
8)    Lonely Are the Free
9)    Heaven or Hell - (featuring Allison Moorer)
10)    I Am a Wanderer
11)    This City
1)    Making of I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steve Earle (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, bouzouki, mandolin, harmonica); T-Bone Burnett (vocals, electric guitar); Sara Watkins (vocals, fiddle); Allison Moorer, Tim Robbins (vocals); Jackson Smith (electric guitar); Tracey Griffin (flugelhorn); Sammie Williams (trombone); Michael Brown (euphonium); Jonathan Gross (tuba); Keefus Ciancia (Mellotron); Dennis Crouch, Roland Guerin (acoustic bass); Jay Bellerose (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Jason Wormer; Mike Piersante.
  • Recording information: Piety Street Studios, New Orleans, LA; The Village recorder, West Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: Sean Gardner; Ted Barron; Gary Briggs .
  • I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive is Steve Earle's first recording of original material since 2007's Washington Square Serenade. The 11-track set was produced by T-Bone Burnett and follows Earle's 2009 Grammy-winning Townes, his tribute to late mentor and friend Townes Van Zandt. Earle and Burnett first teamed on Transcendental Blues back in 2000. The songs here include two 2008 numbers -- "God Is God" and "I Am a Wanderer" -- initially written for Joan Baez. Her versions appeared on her album Day After Tomorrow, which Earle produced. Another track, "This City," was used in the HBO television series Treme, on which Earle appears as an actor. This version includes a horn section charted by famed New Orleans producer, songwriter, and arranger Allen Toussaint. The track was nominated for both a Grammy and an Emmy. Also included here is "Heaven or Hell," a duet with Earle's wife, singer and songwriter Allison Moorer. In addition to the standard CD package, the album will appear in a deluxe edition with a DVD and in a 180-gram vinyl edition.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.103) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Produced by T Bone Burnett, this may be the shaggy outlaw's most polished set..."

Down Beat (p.54) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] makes an argument that the songwriter's strongest suit may be the slow-burning heart-tuggers."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.88) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Stylistically, he revisits various points along his lengthy career path, while nodding respectfully in the direction of such great storytellers as Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, or his own personal mentors Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top