Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Hunter [Bonus Tracks] *

Album: Hunter [Bonus Tracks] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Call My Name
2)    Hunter
3)    Heart Shake
4)    Bring Yourself To Me
5)    I Want You
6)    I Don't Speak You
7)    You Never Lied
8)    Say the Words
9)    Sweetest Sound, The
10)    Drown
11)    Fed Up On You
12)    She's Gone
13)    Dancing In the Dark
14)    Let Me Keep You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Morgan James (vocals, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: James Saez.
  • Recording information: Brooklyn Recording, Brooklyn, NY; Engine Room Audio, New York, NY; Geddough Studios, Harmlem, NY; Quad Studios, New York, NY; The Samurai Hotel, New York, NY.
  • Photographer: Robert Ascroft.
  • The sophomore album from Morgan James, 2014's Hunter, features the Broadway vocalist's mix of retro-R&B and '70s-influenced singer/songwriter soul. Ostensibly James' debut album, Hunter actually follows up her 2012 Nina Simone tribute concert recording, Morgan James Live from Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola. That said, Hunter is James' first recording of all-original material and, in that sense, a much more personal statement than her live debut. Produced by jazz and bluegrass guitarist Doug Wamble, Hunter finds James delving deeply into a collection of tunes that, while not show tunes in any sense, still make clever use of her stage-honed chops. It also doesn't hurt that Wamble, an experienced musician with a wealth of musical skill and cross-genre knowledge, has assembled a backing band that features a bevy of heavyweight jazz artists, including acclaimed pianist Robert Glasper, saxophonist Ron Blake, trumpeter Ravi Best, and others. However, rather than having James focus on jazz standards or even jazz-influenced pop songs, Wamble helped the vocalist craft an R&B-inflected album that brings to mind classic artists like Carole King and Hall & Oates as well as more contemporary singers including Beyonc and the late Amy Winehouse. James, who made her Broadway debut in 2010 alongside Nathan Lane in The Addams Family, has a big, resonant voice with a ton of flexibility, perfectly suited for such crisp, soulful cuts as "Heart Shake" and "Bring Yourself to Me." Elsewhere, she delves into several equally compelling bluesy midtempo numbers, including "You Never Lied" and "Drown." Ultimately, it's that voice -- matched with Wamble's superb musical vision -- that creates the soulful, exuberant vibe of Hunter. ~ Matt Collar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hunter [Bonus Tracks] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top