Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Human Emotions/Spectrum VII

Album: Human Emotions/Spectrum VII
# Song Title   Time
1)    Would You Lay with Me (In a Field of Stone)
2)    If This Is Just a Game
3)    You Can Count on Me
4)    Mississippi River Queen
5)    Tomorrow Is Another Day
6)    Human Emotions
7)    (She Finally Crossed over) Love's Cheatin' Line
8)    Whiskey and Women
9)    Jack Daniels If You Please
10)    Suicide
11)    Rollin' With the Punches
12)    On My Feet Again
13)    Fall in Love With You
14)    What Can I Do
15)    Sudden Death
16)    Fairytale Morning
17)    Seven Mile Bridge
18)    Now's the Time
19)    Love Is Just a Porpoise
20)    Please Come to Boston
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD: HUMAN EMOTIONS (1978)/SPECTRUM VII (1979).
  • Producers: Ron Bledsoe, David Allan Coe, Billy Sherrill.
  • Personnel: David Allan Coe (vocals, guitar); Mary Beth Anderson, Ginger Holladay, Barbara Fairchild, Yvonne Hodges, Lea Jane Berinati, Carol Anderson (background vocals).
  • Recording information: CBS Recording Studios; Pete's Place, Nashville, TN.
  • Illustrator: R.A. Andreas.
  • Photographer: R.A. Andreas.
  • David Allan Coe's seventh and eighth albums for Columbia (documented here on CD by the illustrious Bear Family label from Germany as the fourth issue in their Coe retrospective series) reveal just how influential producer Billy Sherrill became on Coe's sound, and how completely he trusted Sherrill's instincts. Human Emotions, written and recorded after being left by his wife of two years, had Coe offering two sides of his complex feelings of despondency. There is the "Happy Side," comprised of songs written and recorded before his wife left, and in some cases before they even met. The other side is entitled "Suicide" (also the name of the album's final track, the definitive black metal country song), which is a painful examination of one's shortcomings and bitterness after the divorce. Most notable is the re-recording of "Would You Lay With Me (In a Field of Stone)," which is perhaps even more powerful than the original, done four years earlier. Spectrum VII, issued in 1979, barely a year later, is full of beautiful honky tonk songs and whining pedal steel guitars as well as folky country waltzes and progressive country tunes that have as much in common with songwriters such as Jesse Colin Young and Jimmy Buffett as they do with Nash Vegas' finest. There is a corny track -- characteristic of all Coe outings -- as well as the truly definitive version of Dave Loggins' unintentional pop hit "Please Come to Boston." As with all the Coe reissues, this one is chock-full of session photographs and the sound is spectacular. The liner-note essays -- which ceased to be a part of the packaging after the second Bear Family volume -- are missed, though. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Human Emotions/Spectrum VII on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top