Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Hitch [Digipak]

Album: Hitch [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Second in White, A
2)    Radio of Lips
3)    Last Thing on My Mind, The
4)    Liana
5)    Brook, The
6)    It's Started
7)    Gift, The
8)    Running Hands with the Night
9)    Fog (Black Windows)
10)    Underneath the Petal
11)    Blowing Fire
12)    Don't Let Me Know
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Alan Moulder.
  • Recording information: The Red Brick, North Wales.
  • Illustrator: Ralph Steadman.
  • Photographers: Steve Reynolds; Dan Mancini.
  • The Welsh trio's third spin under the stylus, Hitch finds the Joy Formidable turning inward, but keeping the speaker cabinets aimed squarely toward the nosebleed section. Recorded in their hometown of Mold after an epic bout of touring, Hitch is the product of a band looking to both reconnect and disappear. Released in 2013, Wolf's Law saw the trio cementing its place in the current pantheon of anthemic indie rockers with a fetish for shoegaze and '90s alt-rock posturing (think Muse, Foo Fighters, British Sea Power and the like), and Hitch doesn't really deviate, at least sonically, from the template. Where it does separate itself from the two prior outings is in its lyrical themes. Where earlier offerings like "Whirring," "Maw Maw Song," and "This Ladder Is Ours" saw fit to forgo specifics for broad-stroke emotional cues, songs such as "The Last Thing on My Mind," "Don't Let Me Know," and "Fog (Black Windows)" confront the myriad aches and pains of early adulthood with disarming directness -- the dissolution of frontwoman/guitarist Ritzy Bryan and bass player Rhydian Dafydd's relationship looms large throughout. The front half of Hitch treads some very familiar ground, with the nervy, hook-filled "Radio of Lips" utilizing an alarmingly similar blueprint to the aforementioned "This Ladder Is Ours," minus the orchestral flourishes, but mid-album, things take a refreshing turn. The brooding, folk-inflected "The Brook" flirts with Echo & the Bunnymen/Charlotte Bront?-inspired gothic melodrama, as does the eerie "Underneath the Petal," the latter of which suggests that the band's pre-Hitch rendering of the Twin Peaks theme wasn't just done as a lark. The epic closer "Don't Let Me Know" impresses as well, invoking Radiohead's "Fake Plastic Trees" in its early moments, before launching itself into the stratosphere with the kind of otherworldly, seismic heft that has come to define the band thus far. ~ James Christopher Monger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hitch [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top