SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Historical Conquests Of [Digipak]

Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Album: The Historical Conquests Of [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    To the Dogs or Whoever
2)    Mind's Eye
3)    Right Moves
4)    Temptation of Adam, The
5)    Open Doors
6)    Rumors
7)    Edge of the World
8)    Wait for Love
9)    Real Long Distance
10)    Next to the Last Romantic
11)    Moons
12)    Still Beating
13)    Empty Hearts
14)    Wait for Love (You Know You Will)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Josh Ritter (vocals, guitar); Josh Ritter (guitars); Matt Duglas (bass clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, background vocals); Douglas Rice (background vocals); Sam Kassirer (guitar, piano, electric piano, organ, vibraphone, percussion); Zack Hickman (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, lap steel guitar, baritone guitar, trombone, double bass, electric bass, background vocals); Liam Hurley (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Joelle Lurie (vocals); Bill Fagley (spoken vocals); Sarah Whitney (violin); Tony Barba (clarinet); Kirk Knuffke (flugelhorn); Ariane Barbanell (unknown instrument); Doug Rice (background vocals); The Great North Sound Society Orchestra, Matt Duglas.
  • Audio Mixers: Sam Kassirer; Jacquire King .
  • Recording information: Q Division; The Great North Sound Society.
  • Photographers: Sam Kassirer; Ray Gordon.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Douglas Rice.
  • Less well-known but arguably more talented than his contemporary Ryan Adams, and perhaps forever doomed to be confused with Josh Rouse, an equally fine but far more low-key indie singer-songwriter, Josh Ritter should nonetheless count himself lucky: in the 1970s, he would have been called a New Dylan, a moniker that inhibited the career of every singer-songwriter it was applied to. Like his guitar-totting forebears, Ritter does bear the mark of Dylan in his wordy mix of highbrow literary and historical allusions with sly pop culture riffs, but musically, Ritter has more in common with contemporaries like the Arcade Fire or the Hold Steady, anchoring folky tunes such as "The Temptation of Adam" and "To the Dogs Or Whoever" with a solid, anthemic rock base.
  • (Note: A limited first edition of THE HISTORICAL CONQUESTS OF JOSH RITTER includes a four-track bonus EP.)
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (p.78) - "[A] sprawling diorama of down-home rhythms and thoughtful lyrics..." -- Grade: A-

Q (p.105) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] triumph....[The songs] move his sweeping vision light years ahead....Often compared to the likes of Damien Rice and David Gray, Ritter's barely on the same planet."

Uncut (p.121) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he sound of Ritter cutting loose: with 14 short, sharp, richly melodic songs about love, gunslingers and Joan of Arc."

Dirty Linen (p.75) - "[M]ore spontaneous and emotional than its predecessor....'Mind's Eye' and 'Right Moves' have a layered Beatles quality that invite multiple playbacks."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Historical Conquests Of [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top