SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Hindsight (1980-1987)

Album: Hindsight (1980-1987)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Unguarded Moment, The
2)    In a Heartbeat
3)    Too Fast for You
4)    Tear It All Away
5)    Sisters
6)    Is This Where You Live
7)    Almost With You
8)    Fraulein
9)    You've Got to Go
10)    Golden Dawn, The
11)    Life Speeds Up
12)    When You Were Mine
1)    Electric Lash
2)    Night Is Very Soft, The
3)    Autumn Soon
4)    It's No Reason
5)    Someone Special
6)    Month of Sundays, A
7)    Shadow Cabinet
8)    As You Will
9)    Myrrh
10)    View, The
11)    Trance Ending
12)    Tantalized
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Marty Willson-Piper, Peter Koppes (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Steve Kilbey (vocals, keyboards, bass guitar, background vocals); Richard Ploog (drums, percussion).
  • This two-disc collection is a perfect introduction to the Church for new fans, given all the many singles collected from Of Skins and Heart up through Heyday, along with an album cut or two. As an overview of the band's evolution from catchy postpunk pop to its own thrilling musical recipe, along with some amusing liner notes from Kilbey song per song, it's a definite winner. But hardcore fans will want this collection as well for an even stronger reason -- the inclusion of many B-sides not collected anywhere else. Ranging from the randomly goofy to the sublime, they give a great peek into the band's diversions and experiments over its first few years. A clutch of B-sides from the Blurred Crusade era helps close out the first disc, including the thrashy, semi-surf touched "Fraulein," with some neat vocals (background) supporting Kilbey, and the slightly cinematic instrumental "The Golden Dawn," strings and/or keyboards helping out along the way. The rarities on the second disc are also an intriguingly mixed bag, starting with the Sing-Songs EP cut "The Night is Very Soft," a mysterious, slightly strange number. "Autumn Soon" has Koppes doing a quick but atmospheric sitar/guitar melody, though fighting through a slightly murky mix, while Koppes himself takes the quietly moody (and more than slightly echoed) lead vocals on "As You Will," a smart and brisk number. Willson-Piper gets a vocal lead himself with "The View," while the rarities wrap up with "Trance Ending," a nice blend of Middle Eastern percussion, vaguely Spanish guitar and sweet synthesizer. ~ Ned Raggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hindsight (1980-1987) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top