Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Here Comes the Meter Man: The Complete Josie Recordings, 1968-1970 [Digipak] *

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » General » Cajun » General

Here Comes the Meter Man

The Complete Josie Recordings, 1968-1970 [Digipak] *

Artist: The Meters

Elsewhere $31.33 $29.95   Save 4%
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Charly Records (UK)
Album: Here Comes the Meter Man: The Complete Josie Recordings, 1968-1970 [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Cissy Strut
2)    Here Comes the Meter Man
3)    Cardova
4)    Live Wire
5)    Art
6)    Sophisticated Cissy
7)    Ease Back
8)    6V6 La
9)    Sehorn's Farm
10)    Ann
11)    Stormy
12)    Sing a Simple Song
13)    Look-Ka Py-Py
14)    Rigor Mortis
15)    Pungee
16)    Thinking
17)    This Is My Last Affair
18)    Funky Miracle
19)    Yeah You're Right
20)    Little Old Money Maker
21)    Oh Calcutta!
22)    Mob, The
23)    9 'Til 5
24)    Dry Spell
1)    Chicken Strut
2)    Britches
3)    Darlin' Darlin'
4)    Go for Yourself
5)    Hand Clapping Song
6)    Hey Last Minute
7)    Joog
8)    Liver Splash
9)    Same Old Thing
10)    Tippi-Toes
11)    Wichita Lineman
12)    Ride Your Pony
13)    Message from the Meters
14)    Zony Mash
15)    Stretch Your Rubber Band
16)    Groovy Lady
17)    (The World Is a Little Bit Under the Weather)
18)    I Need More Time
19)    Good Old Funky Music
20)    Sassy Lady
21)    Bo Diddley, Pt. 1
22)    Bo Diddley, Pt. 2
23)    Heartaches
24)    I'm Gonna Put Some Hurt on You
25)    Gossip
26)    Tell Me What's on Your Mind

Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Fisher.
  • Organist Art Neville formed a band in 1966 in New Orleans with his brothers Aaron and Charles on vocals, Leo Nocentelli on guitar, George Porter on bass, and Joseph "Zigaboo" Modeliste on drums. Billing themselves as Art Neville & the Sounds, they signed to Sansu Enterprises, a label founded by Marshall Sehorn and writer, producer, arranger, and recording artist Allen Toussaint, and minus the vocalists, and now called the Meters, they became the house band for the label, providing backing tracks for releases by Lee Dorsey, Earl King, Betty Harris, and many others, including many cuts by Toussaint himself. The Meters would also track instrumentals that were used as filler tracks on LP releases by Sansu artists, and in time, there were enough of these instrumentals to release an LP in 1969 called the Meters, which Sehorn shrewdly placed with Josie Records because of that label's connection to its parent company, Cosnat Distributors, at that time the largest East Coast music distributor. The Meters were something special, and their swampy precision practically defined the meaning and template of funk. Two more LPs, Look-Ka Py Py and Struttin', appeared a year later in 1970 on the Josie imprint. When Josie went bankrupt in 1971, the Meters moved on to sign with Reprise Records and continued to release thundering funk records through the decade before gradually morphing into the more vocal-oriented group the Neville Brothers. This two-disc set collects the Meters' entire Josie catalog, including all three LPs, the A- and B-sides of four singles, four tracks billed to Art Neville & the Meters, and two tracks attributed to Cyril Neville & the Meters. The end result is a joyous and impressively funky survey of this stellar and professional band's earliest recordings. ~ Steve Leggett

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Country:United Kingdom
Release Date:25 April, 2011
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Here Comes the Meter Man: The Complete Josie Recordings, 1968-1970 [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.