Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Harvest Years 1970-1973

Album: The Harvest Years 1970-1973
# Song Title   Time
1)    10538 Overture
2)    Look at Me Now
3)    Nellie Takes Her Bow
4)    Battle of Marston Moor, The (July 2nd 1644)
5)    First Movement (Jumping Biz)
6)    Mr. Radio
7)    Manhattan Rumble (49th Street Massacre)
8)    Queen of the Hours
9)    Whisper in the Night
10)    10538 Overture - (alternate take)
11)    Battle of Marston Moor - (alternate take)
12)    Whisper in the Night - (alternate take)
13)    Mr. Radio - (alternate take)
1)    In Old England Town (Boogie, No. 2)
2)    Mama
3)    Roll Over Beethoven
4)    From the Sun to the World (Boogie, No. 1)
5)    Kuiama
6)    In Old England Town (Boogie, No. 2) - (alternate take)
7)    Roll Over Beethoven - (alternate take)
8)    Mambo (Dreaming of 4000) - (alternate take)
9)    Wilf's Solo - (instrumental)
10)    Baby I Apologise
11)    Showdown - (alternate take)
1)    10538 Overture - (Single Version)
2)    Mr. Radio - (Withdrawn Single Edit)
3)    Roll Over Beethoven - (Single Version)
4)    Showdown
5)    In Old England Town (Boogie, No. 2) - (instrumental)
6)    10538 Overture - (mix)
7)    Look at Me Now - (mix)
8)    Nellie Takes Her Bow - (mix)
9)    Battle of Marston Moor, The (July 2nd 1644) - (mix)
10)    First Movement (Jumping Biz) - (mix)
11)    Mr. Radio - (mix)
12)    Manhattan Rumble (49th Street Massacre) - (mix)
13)    Queen of the Hours - (mix)
14)    Whisper in the Night - (mix)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Rob Caiger.
  • EMI's 2006 triple-CD set The Harvest Years 1970-1973 is a more limited -- yet also somewhat expanded -- vault exploration covering some of the same territory as the U.K.-issued double-CD editions of the Electric Light Orchestra and ELO 2 albums. There are no project "leftovers" such as fragments from "Lost Planet," or any BBC tracks -- everything is confined to surviving studio outtakes from the two completed albums that they did for Harvest, so in that sense this is a more restricted survey of that history, the virtues being the sensational sounding remastering of the two albums (the same remasterings heard on those double-CD editions), relevant session outtakes, and the single mixes and edits of the 45s generated by the group during this period. But the makers have also included the complete alternate quadraphonic mix of the self-titled debut album (of which only four tracks, "Look at Me Now," "Nellie Takes Her Bow," "The Battle of Marston Moor" and "Queen of the Hours," had ever previously shown up on CD). To make it clear, it's not in quad here -- its been remastered to stereo while keeping the mix intact; the alternate mix places considerably different emphasis on various instruments, suppressing some in favor of others that were pushed into the background on the original stereo mix, and moving the vocals around as well. It isn't better -- and someday it might be interesting to use that quad mix intact, in quadraphonic, on an SACD -- but it is very different and it does tie up one loose-end among official ELO releases from this period. Hardcore fans who already own the double-disc reissues of the two albums may resent the idea of having to buy the same upgraded remasterings (and the same outtakes) for a second time, in order to get that alternate mix of Electric Light Orchestra (known in the U.S. as No Answer); but others, who are just discovering the joys of this band's early history, may well welcome the chance to probe deeper into that history, and will use this as a jumping-off point for plunging into the two double-CD reissues, with their wider-ranging explorations of the band's work. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Harvest Years 1970-1973 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top