Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » R&B » Funk


Past, Present and Future, Book I

Artist: Michael Jackson

Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from USA
New or Used: $55.95
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Epic
Album: HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I
# Song Title   Time
1)    Billie Jean
2)    Way You Make Me Feel, The
3)    Black or White
4)    Rock with You
5)    She's Out of My Life
6)    Bad
7)    I Just Can't Stop Loving You - (featuring Siedah Garrett)
8)    Man in the Mirror
9)    Thriller
10)    Beat It
11)    Girl Is Mine, The - (featuring Paul McCartney)
12)    Remember the Time
13)    Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
14)    Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
15)    Heal the World
1)    Scream
2)    They Don't Care About Us
3)    Stranger in Moscow
4)    This Time Around
5)    Earth Song
6)    D.S.
7)    Money
8)    Come Together
9)    You Are Not Alone
10)    Childhood
11)    Tabloid Junkie
12)    2 Bad
13)    History
14)    Little Susie
15)    Smile

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Michael Jackson (vocals, various instruments); L.T.B., Vincent Price (vocals); Jeff Mirinov, Michael Thompson, Rob Hoffman, Jen Leigh, David Williams, Marlo Henderson, Christopher Currell, Paul Jackson, Dean Parks (guitar); Bill Bottrell (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Steve Lukather (guitar, bass); Paul Peabody (violin); David Paich (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Rod Temperton, Chuck Wild (keyboards, synthesizer); Steve Porcaro (keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Greg Phillinganes (keyboards, Rhodes, synthesizer); Nathan East (bass); Ndugu Chancler, John Robinson (drums); Ollie E. Brown, Richard Heath (percussion); Christa Larson, Julia Waters, Maxine Waters, Oren Waters (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Quincy Jones, Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Janet Jackson.
  • HISTORY BOOK 1 contains one disc of Jackson's greatest hits and one disc of all-new songs. It features a 52-page booklet with liner notes by Janet Jackson, Steven Spielberg, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Elizabeth Taylor, as well as many never-before-seen photographs.
  • HISTORY BOOK 1 was nominated for a 1996 Grammy Award for Album Of The Year. "You Are Not Alone" was nominated for Grammy Awards for Song Of The Year and Best Male Pop Vocal Performance, and the Michael Jackson-Janet Jackson duet "Scream" was nominated for Best Pop Collaboration With Vocals.
  • Michael Jackson's double-disc HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I is a monumental achievement of ego. Titled "HIStory Begins," the first disc is a collection of his post-Motown hits, featuring some of the greatest music in pop history, including "Billie Jean," "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough," "Beat It," and "Rock with You." It leaves some hits out -- including the number ones "Say Say Say" and "Dirty Diana" -- yet it's filled with enough prime material to be thoroughly intoxicating. The second disc, called "HIStory Continues," consists entirely of new material -- which also happens to be the first material he released since being accused of child molestation. "HIStory Continues" is easily the most personal album Jackson has recorded. References to the scandal permeate almost every song, creating a thick atmosphere of paranoia. Occasionally, Jackson produces some well-crafted pop that ranks with his best material: R. Kelly's "You Are Not Alone" is seductive, "Scream" improves on the slamming beats of his earlier single "Jam," and "Stranger in Moscow" is one of his most haunting ballads. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/10/95, pp.55-58) - 3.5 Stars - Good - "...HISTORY's ultimate goal is to position Michael Jackson's music as a planet, a genre, a law....As time passes and singles break, maybe those superhuman plans will touch back down on earth."

Q (8/95, p.120) - 3 Stars - Good - "...HISTORY is basically an appeal on behalf of the rich and famous....the metallic clatter of jackhammer rhythms and Michael's own complaints remain this record's defining features..."

Musician (9/95, pp.86-87) - "...incorporates tougher musical textures and deliberately `blacker' vocal inflections....more open about expressing negative emotions....also more pointed about political and racial issues, moving more controversial stances..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:20 June, 1995
Guest Artist: Janet Jackson; The Notorious B.I.G.; Siedah Garrett; Paul McCartney; Shaquille O'Neal; Boyz II Men; Eddie Van Halen; Slash

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

4 review(s)
All Reviews
D on
there are just so many michael jackson greatest hits albums around that they are all just pretty much teh same, they all have the same songs on it so there's no reason why you should buy this specific album although it is great with heaps of his classic songs on it. fans should really love this one.
Mike on
I remember owning this as a kid and it is a classic album, though if you are someone who like his hits i wouldnt reccomend this as it has alot of new stuff too so its not a hit fest, if you want a best of then the essential mickeal jackson would be better, still very good CD for the MJ fans out there
melanie on
This little cd here includes all the vital Michael Jackson songs you can think of! This is all you need to buy if you are a Jackson fan. Great cd to put on and have a dance or even while you're cleaning the house. Includes tracks such as Thriller, Bad, Billie Jean and Scream to name a few. Worth the money!
Zoe on
This is an excellent Cd and it is good for all ages. Features the songs Scream ( Duet with Janet and Michael Jackson), childhood (theme from free willy), and Come Together. Cd 1 has 15 songs and Cd also has 15 songs. I recommend this for everyone who is a mega Michael Jackson Fan.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling HIStory: Past, Present and Future, Book I on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.