SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Guero
# Song Title   Time
1)    E-Pro
2)    Qu? Onda Guero
3)    Girl
4)    Missing
5)    Black Tambourine
6)    Earthquake Weather
7)    Hell Yes
8)    Rental Car
9)    Broken Drum
10)    Scarecrow
11)    Go It Alone
12)    Farewell Ride
13)    Emergency Exit
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Beck (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, slide guitar, harmonica, piano, celesta, keyboards, vocoder, drums, kalimba, tambourine, hand claps, percussion, programming); Beck (Moog synthesizer, bass guitar); Smokey Hormel (guitar, electric guitar); Justin Meldal-Johnsen (guitar, bass guitar); Roger Manning (Clavinet, keyboards); Jack White , Sean Davis (bass guitar); The Dust Brothers (hand claps, programming); John King , Mike Simpson (programming); Paolo Diaz (unknown instrument); Petra Haden (vocals); Money Mark (organ); Joey Waronker (drums); Tony Hoffer, Charlie Capen.
  • Audio Mixers: Beck; The Dust Brothers ; Mike Simpson ; Tony Hoffer; Dan Grech-Marguerat; John Stanley King ; Nigel Godrich.
  • Recording information: Madhatter (09/2003-08/2004); Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (09/2003-08/2004); The Boat, Silverlake, CA (09/2003-08/2004).
  • Photographer: Melanie Pullen.
  • Beck's sixth major-label album is a stunning return to the anything-goes format of 1996's ODELAY. Standing in sharp contrast to its predecessor--the quiet, somber SEA CHANGE--2005's GUERO is the sound of the Los Angeles singer/songwriter cutting loose and getting back to the slacker funk that won him legions of fans in the 1990s.
  • "E-Pro" kicks off the festivities with a heavy guitar riff and a Beastie Boys-sampled beat, while "Que Onda Guero" revels in a sunny Latin vibe, with Beck rapping (surprisingly well) in Spanish. However, this outing also offers up MUTATIONS-worthy melodic pop, particularly on "Girl," a brilliantly catchy tune carried along by acoustic guitar, handclaps, and lush vocal harmonies. Beck's reunion with sound sculptors Mike Simpson and John King (the Dust Brothers) breathes plenty of life into these tracks, including the heavily percussive "Black Tambourine" and the '70s-inspired "Earthquake Weather." Jack White (of the famously bass-less White Stripes) lends a bluesy bass line to "Go It Alone," while many of Beck's longtime musicians (guitarist Smokey Hormel, bassist Justin Meldal-Johnsen) turn up throughout the record. An album that features Beck energetically jumping back into his renowned cut-and-paste aesthetic, GUERO is sure to please longtime fans, and may win over young listeners who thought that he was primarily a sad-sack folkie.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (pp.67-68) - 4 stars out of 5 - "The rhythmic jolt makes the malaise more compelling and complex, with enough playful musical wit to hint at a next step....On GUERO, he finds a way to revitalize his musical imagination..."

Spin (p.64) - Ranked #11 in Spin's "40 Best Albums Of 2005" - "Los Angeles plays itself: the noise of traffic, boom boxes, curbside Spanglish, mariachi music -- the sound of what it's like to be an outcast even in an outsider's hood."

Spin (pp.97-98) - "[A] return to his most popular trick: digging up cool grooves and noises from far-flung neighborhoods and throwing a party where the whole city can get down and make out." - Grade:B

Entertainment Weekly (p.140) - Ranked #2 in Entertainment Weekly's 'Top Ten Records of the Year' -- "[H]e's learned that kaleidoscopic music that digs deep into blues, bossa nova, and electro keeps everything marvelously grounded too."

Entertainment Weekly (No. 813, p.66) - "[GUERO] is the first record on which the many moods and sides of Beck co-exist, and it's about time." - Grade: A-

Uncut (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Here, again, is where fat dusty beats meet keening bottleneck scrapes....As another installment in the guy's ongoing dialectics, it's as welcome as anything he's done."

Alternative Press (p.132) - 5 out of 5 - "'Rental Car' has a dilapidated bass line that's White Stripes-worthy....And let's not overlook 'Hell Yes,' which brings Beck together with Neptunes-ish beats for a broken hip-hop revival. Long live the king of hip."

Magnet (p.85) - "Remarkably, the shifts in tone and mood only serve GUERO in the end, proof that stepping back to enjoy the broad picture can be just as rewarding as focusing on one detail at a time."

Vibe (p.142) - "[E]ssentially a sequel to his '96 sample-heavy opus."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 - "'Missing' with wistful melody, swooping Melody Nelson strings, beautifully minimal bass and bossa nova guitar, is a jewel that takes Beck's sonic kleptomania to a new realm."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Guero on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top