Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Greatest Hits, Vol. 2

Album: Greatest Hits, Vol. 2: The ABC-Dunhill/MCA Recordings
# Song Title   Time
1)    This Time I'm Gone for Good
2)    Goin' Down Slow
3)    I Wouldn't Treat a Dog (The Way You Treated Me)
4)    Ain't No Love in the Heart of the City
5)    Yolanda
6)    I Ain't Gonna Be the First to Cry
7)    Today I Started Loving You Again
8)    I Hate You
9)    Soul of a Man, The
10)    It Ain't the Real Thing
11)    Sittin' on a Poor Man's Throne
12)    Let the Good Times Roll
13)    You'd Be a Millionaire
14)    Love to See You Smile
15)    Recess in Heaven
16)    Soon as the Weather Breaks
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Bobby "Blue" Bland (vocals); B.B. King (vocals, guitar).
  • Producers include: Steve Barri, Monk, Higgins, Al Bell, Don Gant, Ron Chancey.
  • Compilation producer: Andy McKaie.
  • Recorded between 1973 & 1979. Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
  • Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
  • Photographer: Frank Driggs.
  • By the end of his staggering 20-year run at the Duke label, Bobby Bland was rightly acknowledged as one of the premiere blues singers of all time. His constant presence on the R&B charts was matched only by his constant touring, a nearly endless pursuit that might very well have brought him to every smoky nightclub on earth. His first handful of post-Duke recordings, the best of which are included here, nearly match up to his early work, albeit in a decidedly different manner. The sophisticated uptown blues are replaced with a slinky groove that snakes its way throughout this compilation. Bland's manner is more relaxed, as if he's easing himself down into a hot tub with a bottle of champagne. Like the best of Bland's work, the mood is still sultry. "Ain't No Love in the Heart of the City" and "Yolanda" are as sexy as anything in his catalogue. One thing's for sure: if Bobby Bland is singing from a jacuzzi, he's not alone.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Greatest Hits, Vol. 2: The ABC-Dunhill/MCA Recordings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top