SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Gil Evans Orchestra Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix

Album: The Gil Evans Orchestra Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix
# Song Title   Time
1)    Angel [2001 Remastered]
2)    Crosstown Traffic [2001 Remastered]
3)    Medley; Castles Made from Sand/Foxy Lady [2001 Remastered]
4)    Up from the Skies [2001 Remastered]
5)    1983: A Merman I Should Turn to Be [2001 Remastered]
6)    Voodoo Chile [Remastered 2001]
7)    Gypsy Eyes [Remastered 2001]
8)    Little Wing [2001 Remastered]
9)    Angel [Remastered 2001] [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
10)    Castles Made of Sand [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
11)    Up from the Skies [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
12)    Gypsy Eyes [Alternate Take] - (alternate take)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Gil Evans (arranger, piano, electric piano, celeste); Howard Johnson (arranger, tuba, clarinet, bass clarinet); David Horowitz (arranger, electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Trevor Koehler (arranger, soprano & tenor saxophones, flute); Tom Malone (arranger, trombone, bass trombone, flute, piccolo, synthesizer); "Hannibal" Marvin Peterson (vocals, trumpet); David Sanborn (soprano & alto saxophones, flute); Billy Harper (tenor saxophone, flute); Lew Soloff, Ernie Royal (trumpet, flugelhorn); Peter Gordon (French horn); Warren Smith (vibraphone, marimba, chimes, gong, percussion); John Abercrombie, Ryo Kawasaki, Keith Loving (guitar); Michael Moore (bass); Herb Bushler (electric bass); Sue Evans (drums, tympani, congas, cow bell); Bruce Ditmas (drums, tabla, cuica); Tony Williams (drums).
  • Producers: Mike Lipskin, Gil & Anita Evans.
  • Reissue producers: Barry Feldman, Michael O. Drexler.
  • Recorded at RCA Studio B, New York, New York on June 11-13, 1974 and June 25, 1975. Includes liner notes by Ian Dove and Stephanie Stein Crease.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Mojo (April 2002, p.122) - "...Sound-shaping with the aid of a youthful 19-piece line-up....the result is a record of considerable breadth that manages the trick of keeping Hendrix in mind while bowing completely to Evans' thoughts..."
  • This CD reissue (which adds additional material to the original LP program) is much more successful than one might have expected. Jimi Hendrix was scheduled to record with Gil Evans' Orchestra but died before the session could take place. A few years later, Evans explored ten of Hendrix's compositions with his unique 19-piece unit, an orchestra that included two French horns, the tuba of Howard Johnson, three guitars, two basses, two percussionists and such soloists as altoist David Sanborn, trumpeter Marvin "Hannibal" Peterson, Billy Harper on tenor, and guitarists Ryo Kawasaki and John Abercrombie. Evans' arrangements uplift many of Hendrix's more blues-oriented compositions and create a memorable set that is rock-oriented but retains the improvisation and personality of jazz. [This album was re-released in 2002 on the Bluebird label with four bonus tracks from the same sessions] ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Fusion
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Gil Evans Orchestra Plays the Music of Jimi Hendrix on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top