Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Get It Right

Album: Get It Right
# Song Title   Time
1)    Get It Right
2)    Pretender
3)    Every Girl (Wants My Guy)
4)    When You Love Me Like That
5)    I Wish It Would Rain
6)    Better Friends Than Lovers
7)    I Got Your Love
8)    Giving In
9)    Get It Right [Single Version]
10)    Every Girl (Wants My Guy) [Single Version]
11)    Get It Right [12" Instrumental Version]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals); Doc Powell, Georg Wadenius, Teddy F. White (guitar); George Young (soprano saxophone); Nat Adderley Jr. (keyboards); Marcus Miller (bass); Yogi Horton (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (bongos, congas, percussion); Steve Kroon (congas, triangle); Dave Carey (timpani); Tawatha Agee, Yvonne Lewis, Phillip Ballou, Brenda White, Michelle
  • Cobbs, Fonzi Thorton, Luther Vandross, Cissy Houston, Myrna Smith, Darlene Love, Paulette McWilliams, Sandra Richardson, Brenda Corbett, Margaret Branch (background vocals).
  • The Smith Connection: Michael Lovesmith, Danny Dedasual Smith, Arron T. Smith (background vocals).
  • Reissue producer: Nedra Olds-Neal.
  • Recorded at Mediasound, New York, New York and The Record Plant, Los Angeles, California.
  • Digitally remastered by James P. Nichols (RCA Recording Studios, New York, New York).
  • Personnel: Barry Finclair, Homer Mensch, Lamar Alsop, Manny Vardi, Lewis Eley, Kathryn Kienke, Julien Barber, Jonathan Abramowitz, Winterton Garvey, Jean Dane, Marilyn Wright, Richard Young , Judy Geist, Sue Prey, Guy Lumia, Harry Zaratzian, John Beal, John Pinavalle, Joseph Rabuskha, Alfred Brown , Sanford Allen, Elena Barere, Regis Iandiorio, Harold Kohon, Jesse Levy, Richard Sortomme, Kermit Moore, Margaret Ross , Jan Mullen (strings); James Pugh, George Young , Jon Faddis, Tom Malone, Alan Rubin, Lew Soloff, Greg Williams , Lou Marini, Ronnie Cuber, John Clark , Peter Gordon (horns).
  • Audio Mixer: Michael H. Brauer.
  • Liner Note Author: J. Matthew Cobb.
  • Recording information: Mediasound, New York; Record Plant, Los Angeles; United Sound, Detroit.
  • Photographer: Francesco Scavullo.
  • GET IT RIGHT presents the '80s Aretha; the Aretha of "Jump to It," and "Freeway of Love." Having left behind the gritty soul and Gospel sounds of her early work as well as the discofied sounds of her late-'70s efforts, Franklin moved toward a funky, synth-oriented sound in the early-'80s. Though much of the rhythm and melody here is electronically derived, there's no lack of feeling in Franklin's performances. It's virtually impossible for Aretha to invest anything less than her all in a recording, and GET IT RIGHT is no exception. Most of the songs here were written by Luther Vandross and Marcus Miller (the former produced and the latter contributed bass and keys), and while the approach is straight-ahead '80s pop/R&B, the delivery is all Aretha, eminently soulful.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Get It Right on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top