SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

For Everyman

Album: For Everyman
# Song Title   Time
1)    Take It Easy
2)    Our Lady of the Well
3)    Colors of the Sun
4)    I Thought I Was a Child
5)    These Days
6)    Red Neck Friend
7)    Times You've Come, The
8)    Ready or Not
9)    Sing My Songs to Me
10)    For Everyman
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jackson Browne (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, keyboards); Jackson Browne; Doug Haywood (vocals, bass instrument, background vocals); Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Bonnie Raitt (vocals, background vocals); Jon Douglas Haywood (vocals); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar); Rockaday Johnnie, Rockaday Johnnie (piano); Mike Utley (organ, keyboards); Leland Sklar, Wilton Felder (bass instrument); Mickey McGee, Micky McGee (drums); David Crosby (background vocals); David Lindley (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, violin, fiddle); Joni Mitchell (piano, electric piano); Bill Payne (piano, keyboards); Craig Doerge, David Paich (piano); Michael Utley, Spooner Oldham (organ); Gary Mallaber, Jim Keltner, Russ Kunkel (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Al Schmitt.
  • Recording information: Sunset Sound, Studio One (1973).
  • Browne's second album is state of the art early '70s L.A. ruminative singer/songwriter stuff, but in retrospect it's nowhere near as slick or mellow as the listener might remember. In fact, the combination of Sneaky Pete Kleinow's pealing steel and David Lindley's smudgy psychedelic lead guitar on songs like "Take It Easy" (all but unrecognizable from the Eagles' pop version) and "Our Lady of the Well" create a sound that eerily anticipates the '90s alt country rock of the Jayhawks and Golden Smog.
  • Even better, Browne's songwriting, though not quite as consistent as on his debut, is still in top form here. The poignant, often-covered "These Days," the uptempo feel and nudge-nudge humor of "Red Neck Friend," the autobiographical "Ready or Not," and the reflective title track all rank among Browne's best tunes. FOR EVERYMAN has a fuller sound than the singer's debut, and the new sonic textures and excellent songwriting proved that Browne's success with the first album was no fluke, and that he was in the game for keeps.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (8/5/99, p.71) - 4 stars (out of 5) - "...the songwriter of the moment on a Seventies scene that was just emerging as a cultural force....he was testing his talents with obvious joy, because, like his audience, he was just discovering them."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling For Everyman on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top