SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Footsteps in the Light

Album: Footsteps in the Light
# Song Title   Time
1)    Wind
2)    Tala'al Badru Alayna (Ft Ben Ammi)
3)    If You Ask Me
4)    I Look, I See
5)    Tala'al Badru Alayna
6)    Seal of the Prophets
7)    Wild World (Bana, Baba)
8)    Angel of War
9)    In Nilta
10)    Salli ala Muhammad
11)    God Is the Light
12)    Peace Train
13)    Is For Allah, A
14)    Adhan (Call to Prayer)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • When Cat Stevens converted to Islam and adopted the name Yusuf Islam in 1977, he was determined to give up his musical career, not because his new religion required it (in fact, his Imam in London encouraged him to continue in music), but because he felt he needed to dedicate himself to study and avoid the anti-religious aspects of the music business. Starting in 1981, however, he began making occasional recordings, and this album, its title deliberately contrasting with the 1984 Cat Stevens compilation Footsteps in the Dark: Greatest Hits, Vol. 2, gathers together tracks dating from then to 2006, perhaps signaling that the singer is dipping a toe in the water and contemplating a musical return. Stevens/Islam is in good voice throughout the album, which, not surprisingly, reveals a heavy Middle Eastern influence in its music and is performed partly in Arabic, with the lyrics expressing religious sentiments. Old Cat Stevens songs "The Wind," "Wild World," and "Peace Train" are re-recorded with new arrangements and fit right in, while "Angel of War" (an antiwar song) seems to have roughly the same melody as the Cat Stevens song "Lady d'Arbanville," even in a percussive African arrangement. ~ William Ruhlmann
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Footsteps in the Light on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top