Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Fisherman's Blues [Collectors' Edition]

Album: Fisherman's Blues [Collectors' Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Fisherman's Blues
2)    We Will Not Be Lovers
3)    Strange Boat
4)    World Party
5)    Sweet Thing
6)    Jimmy Hickey's Waltz
7)    And a Bang on the Ear
8)    Has Anybody Here Seen Hank?
9)    When Will We Be Married?
10)    When Ye Go Away
11)    Dunford's Fancy
12)    Stolen Child, The
13)    This Land Is Your Land
1)    Carolan's Welcome - (previously unreleased)
2)    Killing My Heart - (previously unreleased)
3)    You in the Sky - (previously unreleased)
4)    When Will We Be Married? - (previously unreleased)
5)    Nobody 'Cept You - (previously unreleased)
6)    Fisherman's Blues - (previously unreleased)
7)    Girl of the North Country - (previously unreleased)
8)    Lonesome and a Long Way from Home - (previously unreleased)
9)    If I Can't Have You - (previously unreleased)
10)    Rattle My Bones and Shiver My Soul - (previously unreleased)
11)    Let Me Feel Holy Again - (previously unreleased)
12)    Meet Me at the Station - (previously unreleased)
13)    Good Ship Sirius, The - (previously unreleased)
14)    Soon as I Get Home - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Producers: Mike Scott, Johnston, Vinnie Kilduff, Dunford.
  • Adapter: Mike Scott .
  • The Waterboys: Trevor Hutchinson (bass guitar); Fran Breen, Peter McKinney, Colin Blakey, Dave Ruffy, Mike Scott , Noel Bridgeman, Anthony Thistlethwaite, Steve Wickham.
  • Personnel: Mike Scott (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, piano, electric piano, organ, drums, percussion); Steve Wickham (vocals, fiddle, background vocals); Vinnie Kilduff (guitar, tin whistle, Uilleann pipe, background vocals); Trevor Hutchinson (bouzouki, upright bass); Brendan O'Regan, Alec Finn (bouzouki); Anthony Thistlethwaite (mandolin, harmonica, saxophone, baritone saxophone); D?nal Lunny (mandolin, bodhran); Frankie Gavin (fiddle, tin whistle); Charlie Lennon (fiddle); Colin Blakey (flute, tin whistle, horns, piano); Noel Bridgeman (accordion, drums, bass drum, congas, tambourine); M?irt?n O'Connor (accordion); Roddy Lorimer (trumpet); Bill Whelan (piano); Fran Breen, Peter McKinney, Dave Ruffy, Jay Dee Daugherty, Jim Keltner, John Connolly, Kevin Wilkinson (drums); Padraig Stevens (bells); Liam O Maonla? (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Mike Scott .
  • Recording information: Charlie Lennon's House (01/23/1986-06/02/1988); Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA (01/23/1986-06/02/1988); Spiddal House (01/23/1986-06/02/1988); Windmill Lane (01/23/1986-06/02/1988).
  • Editors: Mike Scott ; Chris Madden.
  • Arrangers: Mike Scott ; Trevor Hutchinson; Anthony Thistlethwaite; Steve Wickham; Frankie Gavin; Charlie Lennon.
  • On their early albums, the Waterboys became known as practitioners of "the Big Sound," an epic, wide-screen musical vision on a par with the contemporaneous offerings of U2 and Big Country, making them the musical equivalents of Cecil B. DeMille. For FISHERMAN'S BLUES, though, they decided to scale things down considerably, departing for a little while from their outsized pop/rock ambitions to embrace Celtic roots, folk, and heavily Dylan-influenced, BLOOD ON THE TRACKS-like folk-rock. The gambit paid off better than anyone could have expected, resulting in one of the band's most memorable, moving albums.
  • Singer Mike Scott emerges here as a gifted troubadour, a mode he'd explore more fully years later in his solo work. Where he once spun grand statements framed by booming drums and echoing guitars, here he makes simple romantic observations backed by fiddles and acoustic guitars. A surprising nod to country roots pops up as well, with "Has Anybody Here Seen Hank?," but, in the end, FISHERMAN'S BLUES is closer to the Celtic soul of prime Van Morrison (whose "Sweet Thing" is covered here) than it is to either the band's rootsier influences or to any 1980s contemporaries.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 Stars - Very Good

Q (p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "FISHERMAN'S BLUES shares the same spiritual rock space as U2's late-'80s work, but with one essential difference: it's rooted in fiddle-driven Irish folk music."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] packs class from port to starboard, the singer tapping the incantatory power of WB Yeats, then spitting bile on the dizzying, inspired 'We Will Not Be Lovers'..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Fisherman's Blues [Collectors' Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top