Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Films About Ghosts

Album: Films About Ghosts: The Best Of... [Bonus Track 2004]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Angels of the Silences
2)    Round Here
3)    Rain King
4)    Long December, A
5)    Hanginaround
6)    Mrs. Potter's Lullaby
7)    Mr. Jones
8)    Recovering the Satellites
9)    American Girls
10)    Big Yellow Taxi
11)    Omaha
12)    Friend of the Devil
13)    Einstein on the Beach (For an Eggman)
14)    Anna Begins
15)    Holiday in Spain
16)    She Don't Want Nobody Near
17)    Accidentally in Love
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Counting Crows: David Immergluck (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, slide guitar, electric sitar); Dave Vickrey (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, sitar); Charles Gillingham (vocals, acoustic guitar, accordion, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Fender Rhodes electric piano, Omnichord, Hammond B-3 organ, chamberlain, Mellotron, synthesizer); Matt Malley (vocals, guitar, electric bass, double bass); Adam Duritz (vocals, harmonica, piano, tambourine, loo bells, samples); Jim Bogios (vocals, drums, percussion, loops); Steve Bowman (vocals, drums).
  • Additional personnel: Sheryl Crow (background vocals).
  • Producers include: David Bryson, T-Bone Burnett, Gil Norton, David Lowry, Dennis Herring.
  • Personnel: David Bryson (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric 12-string guitar, slide guitar, dobro); David Immerglck (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin, electric sitar); Matthew Malley (vocals, guitar, double bass, electric bass); Dan Vickrey (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, sitar); Charlie Gillingham (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, accordion, piano, tack piano, electric piano, Wurlitzer organ, chamberlin, Mellotron, omnichord, keyboards, synthesizer); Adam Duritz (vocals, harmonica, piano, Wurlitzer organ, tambourine, bells); Matt Malley (vocals, piano, bass guitar); Ben Mize (vocals, drums, tambourine, percussion, loops); Jim Bogios (vocals, drums, percussion, loops); Steve Bowman (vocals, drums); Brendan O'Brien (harp, percussion, background vocals); Christos Demetriou (violin); Millard Powers (bass guitar); Vanessa Carlton, Sheryl Crow (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: David Bryson; Jack Joseph Puig; Jim Scott ; Michael Barbiero; Patrick McCarthy; Brendan O'Brien .
  • Liner Note Author: Bill Flanagan.
  • Photographers: Cynthia Levine; Mark Seliger; Chris Strother; Michael Tighe; Anthony Moore .
  • When Counting Crows emerged in the early 1990s with a folk-rock sound that seemed to hearken back to Van Morrison and Bob Dylan, they represented for many a welcome alternative to the dour, sludgy grunge nation that ruled the rock roost. With Adam Duritz's poetic sad-sack lyrics, Charlie Gillingham's Garth Hudson-like keyboard work, and a bedrock of jangling guitars, the Crows turned out a passel of fine albums in their first decade, each of which is well represented on this collection.
  • The hits are obviously here; the self-referential breakout smash "Mr. Jones," the out-of-left-field soundtrack contribution "Big Yellow Taxi" (which found the band riding Joni's chestnut all the way to the singles charts), and the pulsating, Sheryl Crow-assisted "American Girls." With a band as substantive as this, however, it's the lesser-known album tracks that are the real meat in the meal, and there are plenty here, as well as a couple of previously unreleased tracks. The new songs, a live version of the Grateful Dead ballad "Friend of the Devil" and a typically catchy original composition "She Don't Want Nobody Near," suggest that the story of Counting Crows is far from over.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (2/04, pp.88-9) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]hey can reach peaks of sincere intensity."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Films About Ghosts: The Best Of... [Bonus Track 2004] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top