Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

An Evening with Dionne Warwick

Album: An Evening with Dionne Warwick
# Song Title   Time
1)    Close to You
2)    Don't Make Me Over
3)    Walk on By
4)    Anyone Who Had a Heart
5)    You'll Never Get to Heaven
6)    House Is Not a Home
7)    I'll Never Fall in Love Again
8)    Message to Michael
9)    This Girl's in Love With You
10)    I Say a Little Prayer
11)    Alfie
12)    Heartbreaker
13)    Corcovado
14)    Do You Know the Way to San Jose
15)    I'll Never Love This Way Again
16)    What the World Needs Now
17)    That's What Friends Are For
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This live recording find R&B/pop singer Dionne Warwick taking on the Bacharach-David songbook. Her set includes the songs "Close to You," "Walk On By," and "I Say A Little Prayer," among others.
  • There is no way around it: Dionne Warwick's voice isn't what it used to be. In her early sixties when she performed at the Syracuse Jazz Festival in 2003, she's slipped into a lower register and taken on some crags; the sweetness and lightness that were hallmarks of her popular recordings have been replaced by a throatier, less supple voice. That's not necessarily a criticism -- with few exceptions, age does that to a singer, and although Warwick is no longer the young lady who placed a long string of hits on the pop and R&B charts beginning in the '60s and not letting up until the late '80s (her last smash, "That's What Friends Are For," an AIDS benefit single that featured a number of guests, hit number one in 1985), she's learned how to use that time-worn voice to her advantage. The jazz-fest audience understood that and supported her at this show -- just as such great jazz vocalists as Ella Fitzgerald and Sarah Vaughan became a different kind of singer in their later years, Warwick wears her experience well on these live renditions of most of her hits. And they're nearly all here too, with the exception of 1968's "(Theme From) Valley of the Dolls" and her 1974 collaboration with the Spinners, "Then Came You." From her first chart hit, 1962's "Don't Make Me Over," to the aforementioned "That's What Friends Are For," Warwick gives her audience what they came for: "Walk On By," "I Say a Little Prayer," "I'll Never Fall in Love Again," "Do You Know the Way to San Jose" and the rest -- even "Heartbreaker," her 1982 Bee Gees-penned, Barry Gibb-produced Top Ten single. The arrangements are spirited and faithful to the originals, and as long as one isn't expecting carbon copies of the jukebox hits, Warwick's renditions are quite endearing. In addition to all of her own hits written by her favorite song suppliers, Burt Bacharach and Hal David, Warwick throws in two more by the pair: the Carpenters' "Close to You" and "What the World Needs Now," fortunately leaving at home the rappers who joined her on her 1998 recording of that song, giving Warwick her final chart record to date. ~ Jeff Tamarkin
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling An Evening with Dionne Warwick on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top