Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Essential Aerosmith . Edition 3.0] [Digipak]

Album: The Essential Aerosmith . Edition 3.0] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mama Kin
2)    Dream On
3)    Same Old Song and Dance
4)    Seasons of Wither
5)    Walk This Way
6)    Big Ten Inch Record
7)    Sweet Emotion
8)    Last Child
9)    Back in the Saddle
10)    Draw the Line [Remix] - (remix)
11)    Dude (Looks Like a Lady)
12)    Angel
13)    Rag Doll
14)    Janie's Got a Gun
15)    Love in an Elevator
16)    What It Takes
1)    Other Side, The
2)    Livin' on the Edge
3)    Cryin'
4)    Amazing
5)    Deuces Are Wild
6)    Crazy
7)    Falling in Love (Is Hard on the Knees)
8)    Pink [The South Beach Mix] - (remix)
9)    I Don't Want to Miss a Thing
10)    Jaded
11)    Just Push Play [Radio Remix] - (remix)
12)    Walk This Way
13)    Girls of Summer
14)    Lay It Down
1)    Lord of the Thighs
2)    Toys in the Attic
3)    You See Me Crying
4)    Baby, Please Don't Go
5)    Devil's Got a New Disguise
6)    Walk This Way [Live Version]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steven Tyler (vocals, harmonica, piano, keyboards, percussion); Joe Perry (guitar, background vocals); Brad Whitford (guitar); Joey Kramer (drums, percussion).
  • Recording information: Record Plant Studios, New York, NY (06/1977-10/1977); The Cenacle, Armonk, NY (06/1977-10/1977).
  • Photographer: Ross Halfin.
  • Almost all the heavy-hitters are hauled out for The Essential Aerosmith, from "Mama Kin" to "Jaded," and including both versions of "Walk This Way." Some of the songs are presented in a remixed form -- "Draw the Line," "Pink," "Just Push Play" -- but all of the new mixes are good, possibly even improvements, and the newer song, "Girls of Summer," is strong (its companion, "Lay It Down," isn't as noteworthy). So, all the parts are in place -- why doesn't it feel definitive, then? After all, there are no big songs or hits missing (apart from the cover of "Come Together," which isn't much of a loss), just fan favorites and album tracks like "Lick and a Promise," and "Chip Away the Stone". The reason it doesn't feel definitive is that the classic Columbia recordings are wrapped up by track ten, and then the best of their late-'80s comeback is wrapped up by the end of the first disc, which leaves disc two pretty much devoted to everything from Get a Grip on -- an era not widely considered their best, even though it had a number of hits, plus a couple of good songs along the way ("Crying," "Deuces Are Wild"). So, even though this delivers everything it should and will certainly be the one Aerosmith set most casual listeners will need, it doesn't quite capture the essence of the band the way their greatest albums do (whether they're Rocks or Pump). ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top