Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Empire [Original Soundtrack from Season 1]

Album: Empire [Original Soundtrack from Season 1]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Good Enough - (featuring Jussie Smollett)
2)    What Is Love - (featuring V. Bozeman)
3)    No Apologies - (featuring Jussie Smollett/Yazz)
4)    Keep It Movin' - (featuring Yazz)
5)    Walk Out on Me - (featuring Courtney Love)
6)    Conqueror - (featuring Estelle Swaray/Estelle/Jussie Smollett)
7)    Remember the Music
8)    Shake Down - (featuring Terrence Howard)
9)    Power of the Empire - (featuring Yazz)
10)    Nothing to Lose - (featuring Jussie Smollett)
11)    Whatever Makes You Happy - (featuring Juicy J)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Blakeslee Recording Studio, North Hollywood, CA; Periscope Post And Audio.
  • Throughout the first season of Fox musical drama Empire, the Columbia label released episode-specific digital download bundles of the series' original music, executive produced by Timbaland. Each batch consisted of two to five tracks and arrived a day before the original broadcasts. Just prior to the initial airing of the first season's 10th (of 12) episodes, Columbia issued this season-spanning compilation, 11 tracks in CD form. It's anchored by performances from lead artists Jussie Smollett (Jamal Lyon) and Yazz (Hakeem Lyon). Smollett, who signed a real-life recording deal with Columbia just before the compilation hit shelves, is showcased best in pilot episode track "Good Enough," which resembles a decent album cut from Justin Timberlake's Timbaland-assisted 20/20 Experience. Rapper Yazz, who portrays the spoiled but eager youngest Lyon sibling, shines most on the unassisted "Power of the Empire." Contributions from V. Bozeman (Veronica), Courtney Love (Elle Dallas), Serayah McNeil (Tiana), and Terrence Howard (Lucius Lyon) are also selected. Bozeman's despairing ballad "What Is Love" is, by far, the standout of that bunch (and perhaps of the series as a whole). Additionally, Columbia opted to load the disc with the season's high-profile guest appearances -- two from Jennifer Hudson, one each from Mary J. Blige and Estelle -- and thereby squeezed out some of the more memorable cast performances. Among the surprising omissions are Yazz's divisive club track "Drip Drop" and Smollett's version of "You're So Beautiful," two songs that were more prominent, and more deeply embedded, in the story line. (Both of them are on the 18-track digital download edition.) Few of the songs are worthy of life outside the context of Empire, yet it's impossible to imagine the program, an unequivocal hit, being half as appealing without them. ~ Andy Kellman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Empire [Original Soundtrack from Season 1] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top